•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

NLU Delhi, NUJS seize MPL 2 top spots after Jessup North moot

Mooting Premier League 2010-11 - MPL2
Mooting Premier League 2010-11 - MPL2

Newcomer NLU Delhi earned a whopping thirty points to lead the MPL 2 standings after defeating the veteran NUJS Kolkata mooters in Sunday’s finals of the Surana & Surana Jessup North India Rounds.

NUJS Kolkata also won the best memorandum award to take away twenty points from this crucial moot, moving up to second position with a comfortable lead of fourteen points ahead of NLIU Bhopal. Both teams will represent North India in the White & Case Jessup World Finals to be held in Washington in March.

Amity Law School, Delhi and CNLU Patna emerged as semifinalists in the competition and earned five points each. The North India Rounds were conducted by Surana & Surana International Attorneys in association with RMLNLU Lucknow.

Team NLU Delhi enjoys a mooting high
Akshay B.D. from NLU Delhi won the best speaker award, with the rest of the team of third year students consisting of Shreya Rastogi, Ankit Chauhan and Sarvjeet Singh (pictured). The NUJS team consisted of Deepak Raju, Rukmini Das, Iram Huq and Pankti Vora.

Akshay B.D. told Legally India: “The problem was challenging as it involved largely unexplored areas of contemporary international law. What made it more interesting was that we had to use different perspectives and arguments for both the sides.”

The problem dealt with the legality of drone strikes and international anti corruption law. Nineteen teams worked for around five months to qualify for this popular moot, which is also known as the ‘World Cup of Mooting’.

Mr. Ravichandran from Surana & Surana confirmed the results and said that the judges involved ex-Jessup mooters and professors of international law. Akshay B.D. added that organisation of the moot was excellent. “Two things that stand out in this moot are complete transparency and the passion of the organizers. Both Surana and RMNLU Lucknow were exceptional.”

The South India Rounds are scheduled to be held next weekend at KIIT Law School, Bhubaneswar.

Mooting Premier League season 2 standings

Pos Law school Pts Details
1 NLU Delhi 71 [Jessup North] (Winner, Best Speaker); KK Luthra (Runners up); HNLU Moot (Winner, Best Speaker, Best Researcher) Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Semi finalist) Henry Dunant (Runners up)
2 NUJS Kolkata 63 [Jessup North] (Runners-up, Best Memorandum); Oxford-Media India Round (Winner); Commonwealth India Rounds (Winners; Best Memo); Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Best Memo, Best Speaker, Semi-finalist)
3 NLIU Bhopal 49 Stetson North (Semi finalist); HNLU Moot {Semi-finalist) Nani Palkhiwala (Best Researcher), Surana Trial Advocacy North (Winners, Best Speaker), Henry Dunant (Semifinalist, Best Memo), Rizvi Moot (semi-finalist)
4 Nalsar Hyderabad 46 NLIU-Juris Corp (Best speaker); Stetson South India (Winner), Nani Palkhiwala (Winners), Surana Int\'l Minority (Semifinalist); Surana Tiral Advocacy South (Seminfinalist)
5 NLSIU Bangalore 43 KK Luthra (Semi finalist); Oxford-Media India Round (Runners up, Best speaker); Stetson South India (Semi-finalist), Nani Palkhiwala (Best Speaker), Rizvi Moot (Winners)
6 RGNUL Patiala 36 KK Luthra (Best speaker); Stetson North (Semi finalist, best speaker); NLIU-Juris Corp (Semi finalist); Surana Trial Advocacy North (Runners up), Rizvi Moot (best speaker)
7 NUALS Kochi 35 Stetson South India (Runner-up, Best Memo), Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Runner up) Surana Trial Advocacy North (Best Memo), Surana Int\'l Minority (Runners up)
8 HNLU Raipur 34 Oxford-Media India Round (Semi finalist); NLIU-Juris Corp (Winner); Henry Dunant (Winners)
9 SOEL Chennai 30 Commonwealth India Rounds (Runners up, Best Speaker); Surana Int\'l Minority (Winners), Surana Tiral Advocacy South (Runners up, Best Speaker)
10 UILS Chandigarh 23 Stetson North (Runners up); Nani Palkhiwala (Runners Up), Surana Trial Advocacy South (Best Memo)
11 Campus Law Centre Delhi 20 HNLU Moot (Runners up, Best Memorandum) Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Winner)
11 NLU Jodhpur 20 Oxford-Media India Round (Semi finalist, Best memorandum); NLIU-Juris Corp (Runners up); Maritime International Arbitration Moot, Sydney (The Sarah Derrington Encouragement Award)*
11 University School of Law and Legal Studies, Guru Gobind Singh Indraprashta University, Delhi 20 Stetson North (Winner)
14 Army Institute of Law, Mohali 19 Nani Palkhiwala (Semifinalist), Surana Int\'l Minority(Best Memo), Rizvi Moot (runner-up, best memo)
15 Amity Law School 18 [Jessup North] (Semi-finalist); Stetson North (Best memorandum); Commonwealth India Rounds (Semi finalists)
16 Institute of Law, Nirma University, Ahmedabad 15 Henry Dunant (Semifinalist, Best Speaker)
16 ILS Pune 15 Stetson South India (Semi-finalist), Surana Trial Advocacy South (Winners)
16 Law Centre I (LC-I) Delhi University 15 FDI Moot (Semi-finalist; 2 Honourable Mentions); Surana Trial Advocacy North (Semifinalist), Rizvi Moot (semifinalist)
19 CNLU Patna 13 [Jessup North] (Semi-finalist); NLIU-Juris Corp (Semi finalist, Best Memorandum)
19 GNLU Gandhinagar 13 Commonwealth India Rounds (Semi finalists); John Marshall (Winner, Ambassador Round), Nani Palkhiwala (Semifinalist), Surana Trial Advocacy North (Semifinalist)
21 Bishop Cottons Women\'s Christian Law School, Bangalore 10 Stetson South India (Best Speaker)
21 RMNLU Lucknow 10 Henry Dunant (Best Researcher)
23 Government Law College, Mumbai 8 Nani Palkhiwala (Best Memo)
24 Seedling School of Law and Governance, Jaipur 5 Surana Int\'l Minority (Best Speaker)
25 CUSAT Kochi 3 Surana Int\'l Minority(Semifinalist)
25 Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law, IIT, Kharagpur 3 HNLU Moot (Semi finalist)
25 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune 3 Surana Trial Advocacy South (Semifinalist)
Legend: T1, T2, T3, T4 and T5 (total points won in each tier); Pos (Position); W (Wins); R/u (Runner-ups); S/F- Semifinalist; B S (Best speaker); B M/R (Best Memorial/Researcher); HM (Honorable Mention & other equivalent awards); Pts (Points) For more information please refer to the MPL 2 rulebook.
Click to show 32 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.