•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

NUJS bests NLSIU to qualify for Media Moot in Oxford with NLU Jodhpur, HNLU

Mooting Premier League 2010-11 - MPL2
Mooting Premier League 2010-11 - MPL2

NUJS Kolkata won the Oxford International Media Law Moot- India Competition after defeating NLSIU Bangalore in the finals, taking both colleges to third and fourth in the Mooting Premier League second season.

The win gave NUJS Kolkata fifteen points in the MPL 2 season standings, jumping to third place in the rankings.

However, Sahana Manjesh ensured NLSIU Bangalore took home a total of 16 points after winning the best speaker award, bringing the Bangalore college to fourth place in the MPL 2.

HNLU Raipur and NLU Jodhpur were the semifinalists in the competition, with NLU Jodhpur also winning the Best Memorial award.

All four teams have bagged tickets to UK university Oxford in March 2011 for the Monroe Price International Media Law Moot Court Competition.

The NUJS Kolkata team consisted of Ashish Alexander, Vinayak Mehrotra and Shruti Hiremath, while NLS Bangalore team was represented by Geetha Hariharan, Sahana Manjesh and Niharika Rao.

Alexander said: “The Moot was a great experience overall. This was the first mooting experience for both me and my co-speaker Vinayak. The judges gave exceptional feedback after all the rounds. The organisation of the Moot was also very good.

“The problem was based on media law and it was a lot of fun. The good thing was that the legal framework in the problem was very fluid and that allowed us to open our imagination and come up with new arguments which we thoroughly enjoyed.”

This was the first time India rounds were held to select the top four teams to representing the country at the prestigious media law moot at Oxford University. A total of 22 Indian teams participated in the moot that was organised in association with NLU Delhi and NUJS Kolkata.

Oxford D Phil student and Nalsar Hyderabad alumnus Anup Surendranath helped organise the moot in India in his role as Oxford’s India coordinator for the programme in comparative media law and policy. He said that last year Oxford was very impressed with the quality of teams that came from India so they had decided to create a national Indian selection round and to create excitement about media law.

Following the moot a two-day seminar on media regulation took place. Surendranath added that in future years, although not next year, he wanted the moot to become a regional South Asian moot including also including India’s other neighbours.

The final round of the competition was judged by Justice Gita Mittal, Justice Valmiki J. Mehta, Harish Salve, Covington Burling managing partner Jonathan Blake and Trilegal co-founding partner Rahul Matthan. The competition also saw the participation of a wide variety of judges which included Raman Jit Singh Chima, a policy analyst with Google and foreign scholars Josep Carbonell and Wolfgang Schulz.

Professor Monroe E. Price, after whom the moot is named, also attended. Google, AZB & Partners, Star TV and Shell were co-sponsors of the competition.

Mooting Premier League season 2 standings

Pos Law school Pts Details
1 NLIU Bhopal 49 Stetson North India (Semi-finalist); HNLU Moot (Semi-finalist) Nani Palkhiwala (Best Researcher), Surana Trial Advocacy North (Winners, Best Speaker), Henry Dunant (Semifinalist, Best Memo), Rizvi Moot (semi-finalist)
2 Nalsar Hyderabad 46 NLIU Juris Corp (Best Speaker); Stetson South India (Winner), Nani Palkhiwala (Winners), Surana Int\'l Minority (Semifinalist); Surana Tiral Advocacy South (Seminfinalist)
3 NUJS Kolkata 43 Commonwealth India Rounds (Winners; Best Memo); Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Best Memo, Best Speaker, Semi-finalist); [ Oxford India Rounds] (Winners)
4 NLSIU Bangalore 39 Stetson South India (Semi-finalist), Nani Palkhiwala (Best Speaker), Rizvi Moot (Winners); [ Oxford India Rounds] (Runners up, Best Speaker)
5 NUALS Kochi 35 Stetson South India (Runner-up, Best Memo), Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Runner up) Surana Trial Advocacy North (Best Memo), Surana Int\'l Minority (Runners up)
6 HNLU Raipur 34 NLIU Juris Corp (Winner); Henry Dunant (Winners); [ Oxford India Rounds] (Semifinalist)
7 NLU Delhi 33 HNLU Moot (Winner, Best Speaker, Best Researcher) Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Semi finalist) Henry Dunant (Runners up)
8 SOEL Chennai 30 Commonwealth India Rounds (Runners up, Best Speaker); Surana Int\'l Minority (Winners), Surana Tiral Advocacy South (Runners up, Best Speaker)
9 RGNUL Patiala 28 Stetson North India (Semi-finalist, Best Speaker); NLIU Juris Corp (Semi-finalist); Surana Trial Advocacy North (Runners up), Rizvi Moot (best speaker)
10 UILS Chandigarh 23 Stetson North India (Runner-up); Nani Palkhiwala (Runners Up), Surana Trial Advocacy South (Best Memo)
11 NLU Jodhpur 20 NLIU Juris Corp (Runner-up); Maritime International Arbitration Moot, Sydney (The Sarah Derrington Encouragement Award)*; [ Oxford India Rounds] (Best Memo, Semifinalist)
11 University School of Law and Legal Studies, Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University, Delhi 20 Stetson North India (Winner)
11 Campus Law Centre Delhi 20 HNLU Moot (Runners up, Best Memorandum) Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Winner)
14 Army Institute of Law, Mohali 19 Nani Palkhiwala (Semifinalist), Surana Int\'l Minority(Best Memo), Rizvi Moot (runner-up, best memo)
15 Institute of Law, Nirma University, Ahmedabad 15 Henry Dunant (Semifinalist, Best Speaker)
15 ILS Pune 15 Stetson South India (Semi-finalist), Surana Trial Advocacy South (Winners)
15 Law Centre I (LC-I) Delhi University 15 FDI Moot (Semi-finalist; 2 Honourable Mentions); Surana Trial Advocacy North (Semifinalist), Rizvi Moot (semifinalist)
18 Amity Law School IP University Delhi 13 Stetson North India (Best Memorandum); Commonwealth India Rounds (Semi finalists)
18 GNLU Gandhinagar 13 Commonwealth India Rounds (Semi finalists); John Marshall (Winner, Ambassador Round), Nani Palkhiwala (Semifinalist), Surana Trial Advocacy North (Semifinalist)
20 Bishop Cottons Women's Christian Law School, Bangalore 10 Stetson South India (Best Speaker)
20 RMNLU Lucknow 10 Henry Dunant (Best Researcher)
22 Government Law College, Mumbai 8 Nani Palkhiwala (Best Memo)
22 CNLU Patna 8 NLIU Juris Corp (Semi-finalist; Best-Memorandum)
24 Seedling School of Law and Governance, Jaipur 5 Surana Int\'l Minority (Best Speaker)
25 CUSAT Kochi 3 Surana Int\'l Minority(Semifinalist)
25 Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law, IIT, Kharagpur 3 HNLU Moot (Semi finalist)
25 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune 3 Surana Trial Advocacy South (Semifinalist)

Legend: T1, T2, T3, T4 and T5 (total points won in each tier); Pos (Position); W (Wins); R/u (Runner-ups); S/F- Semifinalist; B S (Best speaker); B M/R (Best Memorial/Researcher); HM (Honorable Mention & other equivalent awards); Pts (Points) For more information please refer to the MPL 2 rulebook.

Click to show 11 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.