•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

NUJS beats SOEL to qualify for Commonwealth Moot World Rounds over GNLU, Amity

Mooting Premier League 2010-11 - MPL2
Mooting Premier League 2010-11 - MPL2

NUJS Kolkata won the India Rounds and the best memorandum award at 12th Commonwealth Moot Court Competition, scoring 15 MPL points and a ticket to the international rounds of the Commonwealth Moot next year.

NUJS is now in the 6th position in the MPL 2 season standings.

SOEL Chennai finished as runner-up and its speaker Karthik Jaykumar won the best speaker award. SOEL, with a total of 30 points now stands in the fifth position.

GNLU Gandhinagar and Amity Law School were the two semi-finalists.

Amity became the 25th college to enter the MPL league table this season. The final standings of the MPL 2009-10 season had 26 colleges in total.

Pavithra Ramanujam, one of the organisers of the moot, confirmed the results and said that the final rounds were quite challenging. Dr David Ambrose and Dr Balu from Madras University, along with two sitting judges of the Madras High Court, judged the finals. She said that overall, the Moot was a great success.

The winning team of the national rounds, NUJS Kolkata, would represent India in the International Rounds of the Commonwealth Moot to be held in Hyderabad early next year, she added.

A total of 15 teams participated in the moot, which was omitted from the original MPL 2 moots. Since the India rounds of the Commonwealth Moot were a selection round to the Tier 4, this has now been included as a Tier 5 international moot.

Mooting Premier League season 2 standings

Pos Law school Pts Details
1 NLIU Bhopal 44 HNLU Moot {Semi-finalist) Nani Palkhiwala (Best Researcher), Surana Trial Advocacy North (Winners, Best Speaker), Henry Dunant (Semifinalist, Best Memo), Rizvi Moot (semi-finalist)
2 Nalsar Hyderabad 41 Stetson South India (Winner), Nani Palkhiwala (Winners), Surana Int\'l Minority (Semifinalist); Surana Tiral Advocacy South (Seminfinalist)
3 NUALS Kochi 35 Stetson South India (Runner-up, Best Memo), Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Runner up) Surana Trial Advocacy North (Best Memo), Surana Int\'l Minority (Runners up)
4 NLU Delhi 33 HNLU Moot (Winner, Best Speaker, Best Researcher) Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Semi finalist) Henry Dunant (Runners up)
5 SOEL Chennai 30 [Commonwealth India Rounds] (Runners up, Best Speaker); Surana Int\'l Minority (Winners), Surana Tiral Advocacy South (Runners up, Best Speaker)
6 NUJS Kolkata 28 [Commonwealth India Rounds] (Winners; Best Memo); Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Best Memo, Best Speaker, Semi-finalist)
7 NLSIU Bangalore 23 Stetson South India (Semi-finalist), Nani Palkhiwala (Best Speaker), Rizvi Moot (Winners)
8 HNLU Raipur 20 Henry Dunant (Winners)
8 Campus Law Centre Delhi 20 HNLU Moot (Runners up, Best Memorandum) Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Winner)
10 Army Institute of Law, Mohali 19 Nani Palkhiwala (Semifinalist), Surana Int\'l Minority(Best Memo), Rizvi Moot (runner-up, best memo)
11 Institute of Law, Nirma University, Ahmedabad 15 Henry Dunant (Semifinalist, Best Speaker)
11 ILS Pune 15 Stetson South India (Semi-finalist), Surana Trial Advocacy South (Winners)
11 Law Centre I (LC-I) Delhi University 15 FDI Moot (Semi-finalist; 2 Honourable Mentions); Surana Trial Advocacy North (Semifinalist), Rizvi Moot (semifinalist)
14 UILS Chandigarh 13 Nani Palkhiwala (Runners Up), Surana Trial Advocacy South (Best Memo)
14 GNLU Gandhinagar 13 [Commonwealth India Rounds] (Semi finalists); John Marshall (Winner, Ambassador Round), Nani Palkhiwala (Semifinalist), Surana Trial Advocacy North (Semifinalist)
16 Bishop Cottons Women\'s Christian Law School, Bangalore 10 Stetson South India (Best Speaker)
16 RMNLU Lucknow 10 Henry Dunant (Best Researcher)
16 RGNUL Patiala 10 Surana Trial Advocacy North (Runners up), Rizvi Moot (best speaker)
19 Government Law College, Mumbai 8 Nani Palkhiwala (Best Memo)
20 Seedling School of Law and Governance, Jaipur 5 Surana Int\'l Minority (Best Speaker)
21 Amity Law School 3 [Commonwealth India Rounds] (Semi finalists)
21 CUSAT Kochi 3 Surana Int\'l Minority(Semifinalist)
21 Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law, IIT, Kharagpur 3 HNLU Moot (Semi finalist)
21 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune 3 Surana Trial Advocacy South (Semifinalist)
21 NLU Jodhpur 3 Maritime International Arbitration Moot, Sydney (The Sarah Derrington Encouragement Award)*
Legend: T1, T2, T3, T4 and T5 (total points won in each tier); Pos (Position); W (Wins); R/u (Runner-ups); S/F- Semifinalist; B S (Best speaker); B M/R (Best Memorial/Researcher); HM (Honorable Mention & other equivalent awards); Pts (Points) For more information please refer to the MPL 2 rulebook.
Click to show 14 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.