•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

ILS Pune pips SOEL for Surana Trial South glory; NLIU Bhopal leads new MPL 2 standings

Mooting Premier League 2010-11 - MPL2
Mooting Premier League 2010-11 - MPL2
ILS Pune defeated SOEL Chennai in the finals of the South India Rounds of the sixth Surana & Surana National Trial Advocacy Moot from the 24 to 26 September 2010, hosted by NUALS Kochi.

The winning team consisted of Charuhas Dharmadhikari, Rohit Rathi, Ankit Gandhi and Arjun Uppal. The Moot problem was based on criminal law.

Nalsar Hyderabad and New Law College Bharati Vidyapeeth University Pune were the semi finalists in the competition, while R S Diwaagar of SOEL Chennai pocketed the best speaker award and the team from UILS Chandhigarh took home the best memorandum award.

The moot saw participation from 12 teams across South India. UILS Chandigarh participated in the South India rounds as the college hosted the North India Rounds of the Surana Trial Advocacy Moot earlier this month.

The Competition was inaugurated by Justice Antony Dominic of the Kerala High Court and Justice Thomas P Joseph of the Kerala High Court presided over the awards ceremony.

Charuhas, who was a member of the winning team said: “Our team had a very nice time. The moot was organised really well and we have to thank Mr. Ravichandran from Surana & Surana for encouraging us to participate in the moot in spite of our university examinations being scheduled from 1 October.”

“We prepared well for the examination of witnesses, cross examination, opening and closing statements,” he added. “But when we participated and started speaking, it was a very different situation. It was a great learning experience for me since I want to pursue litigation in future.” He also said that the judges were very good, asking relevant questions and giving a comprehensive feedback.

NUALS Kochi student council president Salman S, told Legally India: “We have been hosting this moot for around five years now. The Competition went off very well.”

SOEL Chennai is now in a strong joint second place with HNLU Raipur with 20 points, behind NLIU Bhopal with 30 points following its wins and best speaker at Surana Trial Advocacy North, as well as semi-finalist and best memorial at Henry Dunant, in the brand-new season standings table.

With the fourth moot in the second season of the MPL we are also rolling out version 2.04 stable of the competitions and scoring criteria.

  • This is the fourth iteration of moots and scoring criteria for MPL 2.
  • The only two changes in the list of moots is the addition of the NLIU Juris Corp Moot Court Competition to Tier 5 and the Maritime International Arbitration Moot, Sydney, which took place in early July, with NLU Jodhpur winning an honourable mention for the Sarah Award. We included this moot result retrospectively since it was preferable to include the 2010 competition, rather than wait a month for the result at the end of the MPL in July 2011.
  • We have also introduced a significant change in the points awarded in Tier 3, 4 and 5 competitions. The points for runners-up and semifinalists in these tiers have been considerably reduced, to increase the value of winning a competition. Now the runner-up place is worth 50 per cent of the points of the winner, and the semi-finalists are worth 25 per cent each of the maximum. This reflects the odds of winning outright in the semi-finals and the finals, being 1 in 4, and 1 in 2 respectively and is therefore more objective. Tiers 1 and 2 have remained unchanged to reflect the difficulty of reaching even the knock-out rounds in those competitions.
  • Any moots listed that see significantly more or less participation than currently envisaged or in previous years, may be upgraded or downgraded throughout the season if a compelling and reasonable case is made.

Mooting Premier League season 2 standings

Pos Law school W R/u S/F B S B M/R HM Pts
1 NLIU Bhopal 1   1 1 1
2 HNLU Raipur 1   20
2 SOEL Chennai 1 1

4 Institute of Law, Nirma University, Ahmedabad     1 1
5 ILS Pune 1  

5 NLU Delhi   1 10
5 NUALS Kochi   1 1
5 RMNLU Lucknow     1
9 Nalsar Hyderabad     2 6
10 RGNUL Patiala   1 5
10 Seedling School of Law and Governance, Jaipur    
1 5
10 Army Institute of Law, Mohali     1 5
10 UILS Chandigarh     1 5
14 NLU Jodhpur     1 3
14 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune     1 3
14 GNLU Gandhinagar     1 3
14 Law Centre I (LC-I) Delhi University     1 3
14 CUSAT Kochi     1 3

Legend: Pos (Position); W (Wins); R/u (Runner-ups); S/F- Semifinalist; B S(Best speaker); B M/R (Best Memorial/Researcher); HM (Honorable Mention & other equivalent awards); Pts (Points)

You can contact the Legally India MPL team, which includes Sanjay Khan and Prashanth from GNLU Gandhinagar on .

If you are a moot court committee or you want to be involved in decisions taken in respect of MPL housekeeping, etc, please sign up to the Google Group email list below.

Google Groups
Google Groups
Subscribe to Mooting Premier League (MPL)
Visit this group
Click to show 22 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.