•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

Delhi CLC beats NUALS to win B R Sawhny Moot; NLU Delhi, NUJS semi-finalists

Mooting Premier League 2010-11 - MPL2
Mooting Premier League 2010-11 - MPL2
Campus Law Centre Delhi University emerged victorious in the 4th Nalsar Justice Bodh Raj Sawhney Moot Court Competition with Nuals Cochi finishing as runner-up and NUJS Kolkata bagging the most points of any team in this competition and its MPL debut.

NLU Delhi and NUJS Kolkata were the semi-finalists, while NUJS Kolkata bagged both the best memorandum award and its speaker Vivek Menon brought home the best speaker award.

The moot was organised by Nalsar Hyderabad and was sponsored by the Bodh Raj Sawhny Memorial Trust. This year's edition saw participation from 25 teams, which is the highest turn out for the moot since its inception, said the Nalsar Moot Court Committee convenor Bhargavi Kannan.

Gaining 10 points from the event, CLC Delhi University jumped to joint 12th position in the MPL2 rankings. Nuals Cochi and NLU Delhi earned 5 and 3 points respectively, moving to joint 7th and joint 9th positions.

The moot marked the entry of NUJS Kolkata in the MPL2 Points Table, earned a total of 13 points at this MPL Tier 5 event moving to ninth spot. The college came third in the MPL 2009-10.

Correction: The original copy erroneously referred to LC1 Delhi University rather than CLC.

Mooting Premier League season 2 standings

Pos Law school W R/u S/F B S B M/R HM Pts
1 NLIU Bhopal 1   2 1 2   41
2 Nalsar Hyderabad 1   2       21
3 HNLU Raipur 1           20
3 SOEL Chennai 1 1   1     20
5 Army Institute of Law, Mohali   1 1   2   19
6 NLSIU Bangalore 1     1     18
7 NUALS Kochi 2 1 15
7 Institute of Law, Nirma University, Ahmedabad     1 1     15
9 NLU Delhi   1 1       13
9 NUJS Kolkata     1 1 1   13
9 UILS Chandigarh   1     1   13
12 Campus Law Centre Delhi 1 10
12 ILS Pune 1           10
12 RGNUL Patiala   1   1     10
12 RMNLU Lucknow         1   10
16 Government Law College, Mumbai         1   8
17 GNLU Gandhinagar     2       7
18 Law Centre I (LC-I) Delhi University 1 1 6
19 Seedling School of Law and Governance, Jaipur       1     5
20 NLU Jodhpur           1 3
20 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune     1       3
20 CUSAT Kochi     1       3

Legend: Pos (Position); W (Wins); R/u (Runner-ups); S/F- Semifinalist; B S(Best speaker); B M/R (Best Memorial/Researcher); HM (Honorable Mention & other equivalent awards); Pts (Points)

You can contact the Legally India MPL team, which includes Sanjay Khan and Prashanth R from GNLU Gandhinagar on .

Click to show 25 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.