•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

Stetson South: Nalsar wins moves to 2nd, Nuals runner-up moves to 3rd spot; ILS and NLS in semis

Mooting Premier League 2010-11 - MPL2
Mooting Premier League 2010-11 - MPL2

Mooting Premier League 2009-10 champion Nalsar Hyderabad won the Stetson International Environmental Moot Court Competition South India Rounds to score 20 points in the MPL Season 2, as Nuals Cochi took home the same number of points as finalist and best memorandum winner.

With a total score of 41 points, Nalsar now stands at second position, three points behind NLIU Bhopal, which is in first.

Nuals Cochi took home the runner-up and best memorandum trophies from this Tier 3 moot. The awards have earned Nuals 20 crucial points, catapulting it to the third place in the MPL 2 season standings, two points ahead of NLU Delhi.

Nalsar team member Gautam Swarup said: "We absolutely enjoyed mooting at Chennai. It was many months of preparation put to test by very competent judges and a few very challenging teams. A moot like Stetson demanded extensive research and comprehensive preparation and these turned out to be our key strengths. However, this victory is but a minor step in the run up to our international rounds at Maryland next year."

"We really look forward to Florida and hope to put up a good performance there in March next year," he added. The team also included Tarun Gopalakrishnan and Malavika Prasad.

NLSIU Bangalore and ILS Pune were the two semi-finalists and shared five points each. With these points, NLSIU and ILS have now moved to 5th and 10th spot respectively.

The moot also marked the entry of Bishop Cottons Women's Christian Law School Bangalore into the MPL. Bishop Cotton’s speaker Ramya Jawahar Kudekallu won the best speaker award at the moot, taking Bishop Cotton to the 15th position.

S. Ravichandran, Head, Academic Initiatives, Surana & Surana International Attorneys confirmed the results and said that the Competition went off smoothly and the top two teams will represent India in the International rounds.

The moot was held at the Department of Legal Studies, University of Madras, Chennai. It was sponsored by Surana & Surana International Attorneys.

Stetson North India Rounds are schedule to take place at SNDT Women's University's Law School, Mumbai from 26 to 28 November.

Mooting Premier League season 2 standings

Pos Law school Pts Details '
1 NLIU Bhopal 44 HNLU Moot (Semi-finalist) Nani Palkhiwala (Best Researcher), Surana Trial Advocacy North (Winners, Best Speaker), Henry Dunant (Semifinalist, Best Memo), Rizvi Moot (semi-finalist)
2 Nalsar Hyderabad 41 Stetson South India (Winner), Nani Palkhiwala (Winners), Surana Int\'l Minority (Semifinalist), Surana Tiral Advocacy South (Seminfinalist)
3 NUALS Kochi 35 Stetson South India (Runner-up, Best Memo), Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Runner up) Surana Trial Advocacy North (Best Memo), Surana Int'l Minority (Runners up)
4 NLU Delhi 33 HNLU Moot (Winner, Best Speaker, Best Researcher) Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Semi finalist) Henry Dunant (Runners up)
5 NLSIU Bangalore 23 Stetson South India (Semi-finalist), Nani Palkhiwala (Best Speaker), Rizvi Moot (Winners)
6 HNLU Raipur 20 Henry Dunant (Winners)
6 Campus Law Centre Delhi 20 HNLU Moot (Runners up, Best Memorandum) Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Winner)
6 SOEL Chennai 20 Surana Int'l Minority (Winners), Surana Tiral Advocacy South (Runners up, Best Speaker)
9 Army Institute of Law, Mohali 19 Nani Palkhiwala (Semifinalist), Surana Int'l Minority(Best Memo), Rizvi Moot (runner-up, best memo)
10 Institute of Law, Nirma University, Ahmedabad 15 Henry Dunant (Semifinalist, Best Speaker)
10 ILS Pune 15 (Semi-finalist, Stetson South India), Surana Trial Advocacy South (Winners)
10 Law Centre I (LC-I) Delhi University 15 FDI Moot (Semi-finalist; 2 Honourable Mentions); Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Winner) Surana Trial Advocacy North (Semifinalist), Rizvi Moot (semifinalist)
13 UILS Chandigarh 13 Nani Palkhiwala (Runners Up), Surana Trial Advocacy South (Best Memo)
13 NUJS Kolkata 13 Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Best Memo, Best Speaker, Semi-finalist)
15 Bishop Cottons Women's Christian Law School, Bangalore 10 Stetson South India (Best Speaker)
15 RMNLU Lucknow 10 Henry Dunant (Best Researcher)
15 GNLU Gandhinagar 10 John Marshall (Winner, Ambassador Round), Nani Palkhiwala (Semifinalist), Surana Trial Advocacy North (Semifinalist)
15 RGNUL Patiala 10 Surana Trial Advocacy North (Runners up), Rizvi Moot (best speaker)
19 Government Law College, Mumbai 8 Nani Palkhiwala (Best Memo)
20 Seedling School of Law and Governance, Jaipur 5 Surana Int'l Minority (Best Speaker)
21 CUSAT Kochi 3 Surana Int'l Minority(Semifinalist)
21 Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law, IIT, Kharagpur 3 HNLU Moot (Semi finalist)
21 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune 3 Surana Trial Advocacy South (Semifinalist)
21 NLU Jodhpur 3 Maritime International Arbitration Moot, Sydney (The Sarah Derrington Encouragement Award)*

Legend: T1, T2, T3, T4 and T5 (total points won in each tier); Pos (Position); W (Wins); R/u (Runner-ups); S/F- Semifinalist; B S (Best speaker); B M/R (Best Memorial/Researcher); HM (Honorable Mention & other equivalent awards); Pts (Points) For more information please refer to the MPL 2 rulebook.

Click to show 7 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.