•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

NLU-J overtakes NLU-D for 2nd MPL place chased by GLC after win at Amity moot

In the Amity Moot Court Competition, GLC Mumbai got the better of NLU Jodhpur, but the best speaker and the best researcher awards in the moot took NLU Jodhpur 18 points ahead of NLU Delhi into second position.

NLSIU Bangalore is 104 points ahead and continues to lead the MPL 3 standings.

The Amity moot ensured that GLC made a century in this MPL as it ended with 106 points in fourth place, just three short of NLU Delhi. This is a marked improvement from last season’s rankings where GLC ended up with just 45 points.

Thanks to the semifinal finish and the best memorandum award at the Amity moot, RGNUL Patiala jumped five places from the 15th to the 10th position with 51 points.

Campus Law Centre Delhi also finished in the semis. Saransh Kumar from NLU Jodhpur won the best speaker award and RGNUL Patiala took home the best memorandum award. NLU Jodhpur researcher Suman Meena won the best researcher award.

Speakers Tushad Kakalia and Ayushi Anandpara and researcher Bhrigu Sharma formed the GLC team. Anandpara said that the team had a brilliant experience and were happy with the quality of judging. “Till the quarters, we had great judges who asked basic fundamental questions. In the semis and the finals we had exceptional High Court judges.” She also praised the moot’s organisation.

Anandpara said that the eight teams that broke into the quarters were equally good. “We were not really worried about reaching the quarters, but once we did break into the quarters, we faced ILS Pune and that was the toughest round for us. All the eight teams were really good.”

Sudipto Sircar, an organiser from Amity Law School, Delhi confirmed the results and said that even though 18 teams had registered for the moot, only 14 turned up. “This may be because of the complexity of the problem, which was primarily on private international law, conflict of laws and law of contracts.”

Amity was awarded organiser points as it did not participate in the moot.

Mooting Premier League 3 season standings

Pos Law school Pts Details
1 NLSIU Bangalore 231 DMH (best speaker); Surana Corp (silver, best memo); GIMC (gold); KLA (best memo); Rizvi (gold); Jessup South (gold, best memo); Oxford Media India rounds (silver, best memo); Stetson South (gold, best memo); NLIU-Juris Corp (gold, best speaker, best memo); Palkhivala (gold); Dunant (silver); B.R. Sawhney (gold); Trial Adv South (silver); Raj Anand Moot (semis); Maritime Arbitration (semis, best memo, hon men for best resp memo);
2 NLU Jodhpur 127 [NLU Antitrust] (organiser); [Amity moot] (silver, best speaker, best researcher); Surana Tech (semis); GIMC (silver); Jessup North (best speaker); Stetson North (gold); Hidayatullah (gold, best speaker, best memo); Dunant (best memo); Trial Adv North (silver, best speaker, best memo); IICLAM (gold);
3 NLU Delhi 109 ULC moot (best male speaker, best female speaker); BCI-Nirma (semis); Surana Tech (semis); DMH (semis); KLA (semis); Jessup North (gold); KK Luthra (gold); SLCU-LKS-CCI Antitrust (best researcher, semis); Oxford Media India rounds (gold, best speaker); (Law Asia (semis); Dunant (semis); IICLAM (organiser);
4 GLC Mumbai 106 [Amity moot] (gold); DMH (best memo); NUJS-HS (gold, best speaker, best memo); SLCU-LKS-CCI Antitrust (best speaker); NLIU-Juris Corp (semis); Trial Adv South (gold, best speaker); IICLAM (Best Memo); Raj Anand Moot (silver);
5 Nalsar Hyderabad 80 [NLU Antitrust] (silver, best memo); BCI-Nirma (gold, best female speaker); DMH (semis); Jessup South (semis); Oxford Media India rounds (semis);Dunant (gold); B.R. Sawhney (organiser);
6 NUJS Kolkata 79 [NLU Antitrust] (gold, best researcher); NUJS-HS (organiser); KLA (silver); SLCU-LKS-CCI Antitrust (gold, best memo); Oxford Media India rounds (semis); NLIU-Juris Corp (semis); Hidayatullah (silver, best researcher); B.R. Sawhney (semis); SLCU Moot (silver, best speaker, best memo); Trial Adv North (semis);
7 NLIU Bhopal 59 [NLU Antitrust] (best speaker, semis); BCI-Nirma (semis); NUJS-HS (silver); GIMC (semis); Rizvi (silver, best speaker); NLIU-Juris Corp (organiser); SLCU Moot (gold); Raj Anand Moot (semis, best memo);
8 ILS Pune 57 Surana Tech (silver); GIMC (best memo, best speaker, semis); KK Luthra (silver); Stetson South (best speaker); B.R. Sawhney (best speaker, semis); Trial Adv South (semis);
9 RMLNLU Lucknow 53 DMH (best reseracher); Surana Corp (semis);KK Luthra (best memo); Stetson North (silver); Palkhivala (silver); Trial Adv North (semis);
10 RGNUL Patiala 51 [Amity moot] (best memo, semis); ULC moot (silver); Surana Tech (best memo); Jessup North (semis); SLCU-LKS-CCI Antitrust (semis); Stetson North (best speaker); Hidayatullah (semis); B.R. Sawhney (best memo);
11 School of Law, Christ University, Bangalore 49 Surana Corp (gold, best speaker); KLA (best speaker); SLCU-LKS-CCI Antitrust (organiser); IICLAM (silver, best speaker); SLCU Moot (organiser);
12 GNLU Gandhinagar 47 [NLU Antitrust] (semis); GIMC (organiser); Jessup North (best memo, semis); Palkhivala (best researcher, semis); B.R. Sawhney (silver); Trial Adv North (gold);
13 SOEL Chennai 45 BCI-Nirma (silver, best male speaker); Jessup South (silver, best speaker); Stetson South (semis);Trial Adv South (best memo);
14 Campus Law Centre Delhi 45 [Amity moot] (semis); ULC moot (semis); KLA (gold); Raj Anand Moot (gold, best speaker);
15 HNLU Raipur 39 Jessup North (silver);Stetson North (semis); NLIU-Juris Corp (best researcher); Palkhivala (best speaker, semis); [Hidayatullah (organiser); SLCU Moot (semis);
16 Jindal Global Law School 33 ULC moot (gold); NUJS-HS (semis); KK Luthra (semis); Dunant (best speaker, semis);
17 Symbiosis Law School, Pune 31 ULC moot (best memo); Surana Tech (organisers); NUJS-HS (semis); Rizvi (best memo, semis); Palkhivala (best memo); IICLAM (semis);
18 School of Legal Studies, CUSAT Kochi 23 Surana Tech (gold, best speaker);
19 V M Salgaocar Law College, Goa 10 Stetson South (silver);
20 Army Institute of Law, Mohali 10 Stetson North (best memo);
21 Amity Law School IP University Delhi 10 [Amity moot] (organisers); NLIU-Juris Corp (silver);
22 KLE Bangalore 9 ULC moot (best researcher); IICLAM (semis);
23 School of Law, Sastra University, Thanjavur 6 ULC moot (semis); Trial Adv South (semis);
24 CNLU Patna 5 Stetson North (semis);
24 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune 5 Stetson South (semis);
24 Dr. Ambedkar Law College, Chennai 5 Jessup South (semis);
27 NUALS Kochi 5 SLCU-LKS-CCI Antitrust (silver);
28 AKK New Law Academy, Pune 4 KLA (semis);
28 Symbiosis Law School, Noida 4 Surana Corp (semis);
30 ULC Bangalore 4 ULC moot (organisers); SLCU Moot (semis);
31 SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law 3 Hidayatullah (semis);
31 Guru Gobind University 3 Rizvi (semis);
33 J S S Law College, Mysore 2 Surana Corp (organiser);
33 Nirma University 2 BCI-Nirma (organisers);

Legend: gold (winners); silver (runner-up); semis (semi-finalist); best memo (best memorandum); best researcher; best speaker; hon men (honourable mention); resp (respondent); organiser (organiser points)

For more information please refer to the MPL 3 rulebook.

Click to show 32 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.