•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

Jindal Law School bests RGNUL in ULC Bangalore moot

Winning Jindalites
Winning Jindalites
Jindal Global Law School defeated RGNUL Patiala in the final rounds of the ULC Bangalore moot.

Campus Law Centre Delhi and School of Law, Sastra University, Thanjavur finished semifinalists in the moot.

Symbiosis Law School, Pune bagged the best memorandum award and Snehith Pereira from KLE Bangalore won the best researcher award. Devan Divyanshu Bhat and M. Kirthana from NLU Delhi won the best speaker awards for the male and female categories respectively.

The team from Jindal Global Law School consisted of speakers Harshita Suresh and Nisha Raman along with

researcher Navya Jannu. Jannu said that team was excited after the moot win. “Nisha and myself are first years and it was our first moot. We had really good judges, who questioned on the fine technicalities of the problem. The highlight of the moot was the final rounds which were judged by a sitting bench of the Karnataka High Court.”

Jannu mentioned that the team put in a lot of effort for the moot. “Our problem was a mix of environmental law, constitutional law and international law and had the concept of cloud seeding. We spent a lot of time researching. We visited the libraries at ILI and ISIL. We were quite well versed with the problem.”

Jannu said that the degree of competition during the moot was really good. “We were not intimidated by any team. We were sure about what we knew. However, the quarter final round against Symbiosis Pune was the toughest round we faced.” She added that the quality of drafting of the problem was of a good standard. “It was a very well written problem which made you read between the lines. The problem made the moot interesting.”

Anjali Shivanand, an organiser from ULC Bangalore confirmed the results and said that 28 teams participated in the moot. "We had High Court judges for the finals, senior advocates for quarters and semis. Everything went off very well.”

NLSIU Bangalore continues to lead the MPL 3 standings with more than 100 points ahead of NLU Delhi, while JGLS and RGNUL are in 16th and 15th place with with 33 and 39 points respectively.

Mooting Premier League 3 season standings

Pos Law school Pts Details
1 NLSIU Bangalore 231 DMH (best speaker); Surana Corp (silver, best memo); GIMC (gold); KLA (best memo); Rizvi (gold); Jessup South (gold, best memo); Oxford Media India rounds (silver, best memo); Stetson South (gold, best memo); NLIU-Juris Corp (gold, best speaker, best memo); Palkhivala (gold); Dunant (silver); B.R. Sawhney (gold); Trial Adv South (silver); Raj Anand Moot (semis); Maritime Arbitration (semis, best memo, hon men for best resp memo);
2 NLU Delhi 109 [ULC moot] (best male speaker, best female speaker); BCI-Nirma (semis); [Surana Tech] (semis); DMH (semis); KLA (semis); Jessup North (gold); [KK Luthra] (gold); [SLCU-LKS-CCI Antitrust] (best researcher, semis); Oxford Media India rounds (gold, best speaker); (Law Asia (semis); Dunant (semis); IICLAM (organiser);
3 NLU Jodhpur 102 Surana Tech (semis); GIMC (silver); Jessup North (best speaker); Stetson North (gold); Hidayatullah (gold, best speaker, best memo); Dunant (best memo); Trial Adv North (silver, best speaker, best memo); IICLAM (gold);
4 GLC Mumbai 91 DMH (best memo); NUJS-HS (gold, best speaker, best memo); SLCU-LKS-CCI Antitrust (best speaker); NLIU-Juris Corp (semis); Trial Adv South (gold, best speaker); IICLAM (Best Memo); Raj Anand Moot (silver);
5 Nalsar Hyderabad 70 BCI-Nirma (gold, best female speaker); DMH (semis); Jessup South (semis); Oxford Media India rounds (semis);Dunant (gold); B.R. Sawhney (organiser);
6 NUJS Kolkata 64 NUJS-HS (organiser); KLA (silver); SLCU-LKS-CCI Antitrust (gold, best memo); Oxford Media India rounds (semis); NLIU-Juris Corp (semis); Hidayatullah (silver, best researcher); B.R. Sawhney (semis); SLCU Moot (silver, best speaker, best memo); Trial Adv North (semis);
7 ILS Pune 57 Surana Tech (silver); GIMC (best memo, best speaker, semis); KK Luthra (silver); Stetson South (best speaker); B.R. Sawhney (best speaker, semis); Trial Adv South (semis);
8 RMLNLU Lucknow 53 DMH (best reseracher); Surana Corp (semis);KK Luthra (best memo); Stetson North (silver); Palkhivala (silver); Trial Adv North (semis);
9 NLIU Bhopal 51 BCI-Nirma (semis); NUJS-HS (silver); GIMC (semis); Rizvi (silver, best speaker); NLIU-Juris Corp (organiser); SLCU Moot (gold); Raj Anand Moot (semis, best memo);
10 School of Law, Christ University, Bangalore 49 Surana Corp (gold, best speaker); KLA (best speaker); SLCU-LKS-CCI Antitrust (organiser); IICLAM (silver, best speaker); SLCU Moot (organiser);
11 SOEL Chennai 45 BCI-Nirma (silver, best male speaker); Jessup South (silver, best speaker); Stetson South (semis);Trial Adv South (best memo);
12 GNLU Gandhinagar 44 GIMC (organiser); Jessup North (best memo, semis); Palkhivala (best researcher, semis); B.R. Sawhney (silver); Trial Adv North (gold);
13 Campus Law Centre Delhi 41 [ULC moot] (semis); KLA (gold); Raj Anand Moot (gold, best speaker);
14 HNLU Raipur 39 Jessup North (silver);Stetson North (semis); NLIU-Juris Corp (best researcher); Palkhivala (best speaker, semis); [Hidayatullah (organiser); SLCU Moot (semis);
15 RGNUL Patiala 39 [ULC moot] (silver); Surana Tech (best memo); Jessup North (semis);[SLCU-LKS-CCI Antitrust] (semis); Stetson North (best speaker); Hidayatullah (semis); B.R. Sawhney (best memo);
16 Jindal Global Law School 33 [ULC moot] (gold); NUJS-HS (semis); KK Luthra (semis); Dunant (best speaker, semis);
17 Symbiosis Law School, Pune 31 [ULC moot] (best memo); Surana Tech (organisers); NUJS-HS (semis); Rizvi (best memo, semis); Palkhivala (best memo); IICLAM (semis);
18 School of Legal Studies, CUSAT Kochi 23 Surana Tech (gold, best speaker);
19 V M Salgaocar Law College, Goa 10 Stetson South (silver);
20 Army Institute of Law, Mohali 10 Stetson North (best memo);
21 KLE Bangalore 9 [ULC moot] (best researcher); IICLAM (semis);
22 Amity Law School IP University Delhi 8 NLIU-Juris Corp (silver);
23 School of Law, Sastra University, Thanjavur 6 [ULC moot] (semis); Trial Adv South (semis);
24 CNLU Patna 5 Stetson North (semis);
24 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune 5 Stetson South (semis);
24 Dr. Ambedkar Law College, Chennai 5 Jessup South (semis);
27 NUALS Kochi 5 SLCU-LKS-CCI Antitrust (silver);
28 AKK New Law Academy, Pune 4 KLA (semis);
28 Symbiosis Law School, Noida 4 Surana Corp (semis);
30 ULC Bangalore 4 [ULC moot] (organisers); SLCU Moot (semis);
31 SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law 3 Hidayatullah (semis);
31 Guru Gobind University 3 Rizvi (semis);
33 J S S Law College, Mysore 2 Surana Corp (organiser);
33 Nirma University 2 BCI-Nirma (organisers);

For more information please refer to the MPL 3 rulebook.

Click to show 7 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.