•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

NLU Delhi wins HNLU moot, jumps to 2nd place of MPL 2

Mooting Premier League 2010-11 - MPL2
Mooting Premier League 2010-11 - MPL2

NLU Delhi registered its first win of the Mooting Premier League’s second season by defeating Campus Law Centre Delhi in the finals of the 3rd Justice Hidayatullah Memorial National Moot Court Competition held at HNLU Raipur.

NLIU Bhopal and Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law, IIT, Kharagpur were the two semi-finalists and picked up three points each.

Aditya Singha and Devanshu Sajlan from NLU Delhi also won the best speaker and the best researcher awards respectively. Campus Law Centre Delhi bagged the best memorandum award.

Pankaj Kumar Singh, Covenor, Moot Court Committee, HNLU confirmed that 29 teams participated in the moot, which was organised by HNLU in association with the Competition Commission of India, the All India Bar Association, J Sagar Associates and Khaitan & Co. The competition was a huge success, he said.

NLU Delhi gained 20 points from this tier 5 competition, catapulting it into 2nd position of the MPL 2 standings with a total of 33 points, ahead of last year's winner Nalsar Hyderabad.

Campus Law Centre Delhi earned 10 points at the event, moving onto share the 4th spot with HNLU Raipur and SOEL Chennai.

While the moot marked the entry of Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law, IIT, Kharagpur in the MPL 2 standings, NLIU Bhopal consolidated its top spot by adding 3 more points to its score.

Mooting Premier League season 2 standings

Pos Law school Pts Details
1 NLIU Bhopal 44 HNLU Moot (Semi-finalist) Nani Palkhiwala (Best Researcher), Surana Trial Advocacy North (Winners, Best Speaker), Henry Dunant (Semifinalist, Best Memo), Rizvi Moot (semi-finalist)
2 NLU Delhi 33 HNLU Moot (Winner, Best Speaker, Best Researcher) Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Semi finalist) Henry Dunant (Runners up)
3 Nalsar Hyderabad 21 Nani Palkhiwala (Winners), Surana Int\'l Minority (Semifinalist), Surana Tiral Advocacy South (Seminfinalist)
4 HNLU Raipur 20 Henry Dunant (Winners)
4 Campus Law Centre Delhi 20 HNLU Moot (Runners up, Best Memorandum) Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Winner)
4 SOEL Chennai 20 Surana Int'l Minority (Winners), Surana Tiral Advocacy South (Runners up, Best Speaker)
7 Army Institute of Law, Mohali 19 Nani Palkhiwala (Semifinalist), Surana Int'l Minority(Best Memo), Rizvi Moot (runner-up, best memo)
8 NLSIU Bangalore 18 Nani Palkhiwala (Best Speaker), Rizvi Moot (Winners)
9 Institute of Law, Nirma University, Ahmedabad 15 Henry Dunant (Semifinalist, Best Speaker)
9 NUALS Kochi 15 Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Runner up) Surana Trial Advocacy North (Best Memo), Surana Int\'l Minority (Runners up)
11 UILS Chandigarh 13 Nani Palkhiwala (Runners Up), Surana Trial Advocacy South (Best Memo)
11 NUJS Kolkata 13 Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Best Memo, Best Speaker, Semi-finalist)
13 RMNLU Lucknow 10 Henry Dunant (Best Researcher)
13 ILS Pune 10 Surana Trial Advocacy South (Winners)
13 RGNUL Patiala 10 Surana Trial Advocacy North (Runners up), Rizvi Moot (best speaker)
16 Government Law College, Mumbai 8 Nani Palkhiwala (Best Memo)
17 GNLU Gandhinagar 7 Nani Palkhiwala (Semifinalist), Surana Trial Advocacy North (Semifinalist)
18 Law Centre I (LC-I) Delhi University 6 Nalsar B.R. Sawhny Moot (Winner) Surana Trial Advocacy North (Semifinalist), Rizvi Moot (semifinalist)
19 Seedling School of Law and Governance, Jaipur 5 Surana Int'l Minority (Best Speaker)
20 CUSAT Kochi 3 Surana Int'l Minority(Semifinalist)
20 Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law, IIT, Kharagpur 3 HNLU Moot (Semi finalist)
20 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune 3 Surana Trial Advocacy South (Semifinalist)
20 NLU Jodhpur 3 Maritime International Arbitration Moot, Sydney (The Sarah Derrington Encouragement Award)*
Click to show 9 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.