•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

NLU Delhi learns from prelims, stops NLSIU-B at Oxford Media India moot for 1st MPL3 win

NLU Delhi defeated NLSIU Bangalore at the Oxford-India Media law moot, completing its first win for the season, and divvying up best speaker and best memo mentions with the runner-up.

Aishani Gupta from NLU Delhi won the best speaker award and NLSIU Bangalore took home the best memorandum award. Nalsar Hyderabad and NUJS Kolkata, the top two teams of MPL 2, finished as semi-finalists at this Tier 4 MPL moot.

The victory boosted NLU Delhi’s MPL 3 rankings from nineteenth position to fifth. Current league leader NLSIU Bangalore continued its splendid performance this season as it won the best memorandum citation for the fourth time this season. NLSIU is now 52 points ahead of NLU Jodhpur.

The NLU Delhi team consisted of speakers Aishani Gupta and Nitika Dwivedi along with researcher Sarvjeet Singh.

Best speaker Gupta said that the team had a fantastic experience. “We had a great time during the moot. We’ve not been doing really well this season but we are extremely happy about this win.”

She added that they had appreciated the quality of judging at the moot. “The judges at the moot were really good. First, they knew the moot problem in and out. In most other moots, judges simply don’t know the problem thoroughly and just attempt to rattle the speakers and break their composure by continuously asking questions and not allowing them to speak. Here, we had judges who asked very appropriate questions and who let you speak when it mattered.

“Second, they gave us good feedback after each round. That really helped us as we incorporated their suggestions as we progressed in the moot. In fact, we lost out to NLS Bangalore in one of our prelim rounds, but we defeated them in the finals. We did make a few mistakes in the prelim rounds which we ensured weren’t repeated in the finals.”

Gupta noted that the moot problem was based on the conflict between the right to freedom of expression and the right to privacy in the context of public figures. “This was a fantastic moot problem mainly because it was well balanced for both the sides. We also met the problem drafter, Prof Felix Wu from Cardozo School of Law.”{source}
<div style="float: left; margin-right: 10px;"><div id="fb-root"></div>
<script>(function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) {return;} js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id;

js.src = "//connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js#xfbml=1"; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);}(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));</script><div class="fb-like-box" data-href="http://www.facebook.com/mooting.in" data-width="292" data-show-faces="true" data-stream="true" data-header="true"></div></div>

Gupta also stated that the moot was extremely transparent. “From the quarters onwards, the score sheets were disclosed to the teams after each round.” Regarding the preparation for the international rounds, Gupta mentioned that the team was unsure if they would have to resubmit their memorandum. “We were asked to focus on Indian law and Indian precedents for the national rounds. We may have to put in more work and change parts of our memorandum to focus on international precedents.” 

The moot was organised by the Programme in Comparative Media Law and Policy, University of Oxford in collaboration with NLU Delhi and NUJS Kolkata as the South Asia regional rounds for the Price Media Law moot. The event was hosted by NLU Delhi.

Devna Arora, the Moot Court Committee Convener at NLU Delhi said that 23 teams participated in the moot. “We had excellent judges for the moot. The final round bench had Harish Salve, Justice Gita Mittal, Shyam Divan, Blair Leven and Mark Stevens.”

She also stressed the transparent manner in which the moot was conducted. “We organisers maintained a Chinese wall with the participants. The transparency levels were extremely high.”

The top four teams in the moot – NLU Delhi, NLSIU Bangalore, NUJS Kolkata and Nalsar Hyderabad - will represent India at the Price Media law moot scheduled to take place in March next year.

NLU Delhi and NUJS Kolkata are not being awarded the MPL Organiser points as they were allowed to participate in the moot.  

Mooting Premier League 3 season standings

Pos Law school Pts Details
1 NLSIU Bangalore 132 [Oxford Media India rounds] (silver, best memo); Stetson South (gold, best memo); NLIU-Juris Corp (gold, best speaker, best memo); Palkhivala (gold); Dunant (silver); B.R. Sawhney (gold); Trial Adv South (silver); Raj Anand Moot (semis); Maritime Arbitration (semis, best memo, hon men for best resp memo);
2 NLU Jodhpur 80 Stetson North (gold); Hidayatullah (gold, best speaker, best memo); Dunant (best memo); Trial Adv North (silver, best speaker, best memo); IICLAM (gold);
3 NUJS Kolkata 39 [Oxford Media India rounds] (semis); NLIU-Juris Corp (semis); Hidayatullah (silver, best researcher); B.R. Sawhney (semis); SLCU Moot (silver, best speaker, best memo); Trial Adv North (semis);
4 GLC Mumbai 35 NLIU-Juris Corp (semis); Trial Adv South (gold, best speaker); IICLAM (Best Memo); Raj Anand Moot (silver);
5 NLU Delhi 33 [Oxford Media India rounds] (gold, best speaker); (Law Asia (semis); Dunant (semis); IICLAM (organiser);
6 HNLU Raipur 29 Stetson North (semis); NLIU-Juris Corp (best researcher); Palkhivala (best speaker, semis); [Hidayatullah (organiser); SLCU Moot (semis);
7 GNLU Gandhinagar 27 Palkhivala (best researcher, semis); B.R. Sawhney (silver); Trial Adv North (gold);
8 Nalsar Hyderabad 25 [Oxford Media India rounds] (semis);Dunant (gold); B.R. Sawhney (organiser);
9 NLIU Bhopal 24 NLIU-Juris Corp (organiser); SLCU Moot (gold); Raj Anand Moot (semis, best memo);
10 Campus Law Centre Delhi 23 Raj Anand Moot (gold, best speaker);
11 RMLNLU Lucknow 21 Stetson North (silver); Palkhivala (silver); Trial Adv North (semis);
12 ILS Pune 21 Stetson South (best speaker); B.R. Sawhney (best speaker, semis); Trial Adv South (semis);
13 RGNUL Patiala 18 Stetson North (best speaker); Hidayatullah (semis); B.R. Sawhney (best memo);
14 School of Law, Christ University, Bangalore 17 IICLAM (silver, best speaker); SLCU Moot (organiser);
15 Jindal Global Law School 15 Dunant (best speaker, semis);
16 Symbiosis Law School, Pune 12 Palkhivala (best memo); IICLAM (semis);
17 V M Salgaocar Law College, Goa 10 Stetson South (silver);
18 Army Institute of Law, Mohali 10 Stetson North (best memo);
19 SOEL Chennai 10 Stetson South (semis);Trial Adv South (best memo);
20 Amity Law School IP University Delhi 8 NLIU-Juris Corp (silver);
21 CNLU Patna 5 Stetson North (semis);
21 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune 5 Stetson South (semis);
23 KLE Bangalore 4 IICLAM (semis);
24 ULC Bangalore 3 SLCU Moot (semis);
24 School of Law, Sastra University, Thanjavur 3 Trial Adv South (semis);
24 SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law 3 Hidayatullah (semis);


For more information please refer to the MPL 3 rulebook.
Click to show 39 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.