•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

SOEL Chennai reaches Int'l Red Cross Moot semis, jumps to 4th in MPL

Mooting Premier League sponsored by Clifford Chance
Mooting Premier League sponsored by Clifford Chance
School of Excellence in Law (SOEL) Chennai delivered a top performance to the semi-finals of the 8th Red Cross International Humanitarian Law Moot in Hong Kong, picking up 14 points and climbing two places in the Mooting Premier League (MPL) sponsored by Clifford Chance.

SOEL Chennai represented South Asia in the event and bagged a total of 14 points in the league table to move to a comfortable lead in fourth spot ahead of ILS Pune and NLIU Bhopal.

SOEL Chennai was a semi-finalist, giving the law school 7 MPL points from this prestigious Tier 2 event.

The Chennai team also bagged the first honourable mention citation for best memorial, gifting it a further 7 points at the event.

SOEL Chennai was also adjudged as one of the top five teams from the defendant side. The college had won the Indian rounds of the Henry Dunant Competition organized by ISIL New Delhi and the South Asian rounds to qualify for the Asia Pacific finals of this competition.

A total of 20 international teams participated in the finals after having qualified from their regional rounds.

The University of Hong Kong won the event. It was represented by Addiped Cheng Yeng and Jacqueline Hoi-man Law.  The team from Hong Kong defeated Universiti Utara Malaysia in the finals. The runner-up team was represented by Joshua Honguan Teh and Ida Daniella Zulkifili.

The Red Cross Humanitarian Moot was held in Hong Kong and co-organised by the Hong Kong Red Cross and the International Committee of the Red Cross in collaboration with The University of Hong Kong City University of Hong Kong and The Chinese University of Hong Kong from 5 to 6 March 2010.

Jacqueline Hoi-man Law of the University of Hong Kong won the best mooter, while the best memorial prize was jointly awarded to Universiti Utara Malaysia Malaysia and Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand.

This event is the first international humanitarian moot competition in the Asia-Pacific region that aims to raise awareness of international humanitarian issues among law students.

Participating law students debated whether certain acts violated the law of war and whether the commander of the armed forces should have criminal responsibility for the violating acts.

The Legally India Mooting Premier League is sponsored by Clifford Chance and the top eight ranked law colleges will share a generous prize fund of Rs 1.5 lakhs provided by the firm.

Moot court committees of fourth to eighth ranked colleges will each receive Rs 10,000 to support future mooting activities, with the top three receiving Rs 50,000, Rs 30,000 and Rs 20,000 respectively.

We are currently confirming the outcome of the Stetson World Rounds at which NLU Jodhpur participated.

2009-10 Mooting Premier League rankings, sponsored by Clifford Chance

Law school Points Wins
Nalsar Hyderabad 132
IICLAM (best memorial); Henry Dunant Indian rounds (runners-up); Surana Trial Advocacy South (best team, best memorial); Nani Palkhiwala (best memorial), Bar Council of India (best team); KK Luthra (runners-up, best speaker); NLIU Tankha (runners-up, best memo); MM Singhvi (best memo); Jessup South (runner-up); DM Harish (best researcher); Surana Corporate (best team, best memorial); SP Sathe (best team, best orator); KLA Moot (runners up); NUJS Herbert Smith (best team, best memorial); Surana Int'l Tech Moot (best memorial); Amity Moot (runners up, best orator, best memorial, best researcher)
2. NLU Jodhpur 80
Nalsar B.R.Sawhney (runners-up, best memorial); Stetson North (best team, best memorial); Jessup North (best team, best orator); Surana Corporate (runners up, best orator); SP Sathe (best memorial); KLA Moot (best team, best orator); NUJS Herbert Smith (runners-up); Surana Int'l Tech Moot (best orator); Amity Moot (best team)
3. NLSIU Bangalore 78 Manfred Lachs (best team, best orator); Stetson South (best advocate), Bar Council of India (best orator); KK Luthra (best memorial); MM Singhvi (best researcher); Jessup South (best team, best orator); KLA Moot (best memorial)
School of Excellence in Law (SOEL) Chennai 43
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best team, best orator), NLIU Tankha (best orator); Nani Palkhiwala (best team); Red Cross Asia Pacific (semi-finalist; honourable mention best memorial)
ILS Law College Pune 31
Bar Council of India (runners-up); DM Harish (runners-up); NUJS Herbert Smith (best speaker); Surana International Tech Moot (best team); ULC Bangalore Moot (best team)
6. NLIU Bhopal 29
All India Corporate Law Moot (runners-up, best orator); Nalsar B.R.Sawhney (best team, best orator); Stetson South (best memorial); MM Singhvi (runners-up)
Government Law College (GLC) Mumbai 26
KK Luthra (best team); MM Singhvi (best team); DM Harish (best orator, best memorial)
Amity Law School IP University Delhi 25
IICLAM (best team & best orator); Stetson North (runner-up), Jessup North (best memorial)
9. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law (RGNUL) Patiala 18 Henry Dunant national rounds (best researcher); NLIU Tankha (best team); ULC Bangalore Moot (Best Memorial)
Law Centre I (LC-I) Delhi University 14
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best memorial), Jessup North (runner-up)
10. Symbiosis, Pune 14 Nani Palkhiwala (runners up, best orator); GNLU International Moot Court (runners up); ULC Bangalore Moot (runners-up)
12. Nuals Kochi 13 Surana Trial Advocacy North (runners-up); Jessup South (best memorial); Surana International Tech Moot (runners up)
13. NUJS Kolkata 11
All India Corporate Law Moot (best team, best researcher)
13. University Institute of Laws PURC, Ludhiana
11 Surana trial advocacy north rounds (best team, best orator)
15. Law School, Bangalore 10 ULC Bangalore Moot (best orator, best researcher)
15. Kerala Law Academy Thiruvananthapuram 10 Stetson South (best team)
NLU Delhi
DM Harish (best team)
18. UILS Punjab 8 Surana Trial advocacy South (runners up, best orator)
19. HNLU Raipur 7 Stetson North (best orator)
19. New Law College Bharati Vidyapeeth University Pune 7 Stetson South (runner-up)
CNLU Patna
GNLU International Moot (best memorial)
21. Government Law College Ernakulam 5 MM Singhvi (best orator)
21. Institute of Law, Nirma University, Ahmedabad 5 Surana Trial Advocacy North (best memorial)
21. ULC Bangalore 5 All India Corporate Law Moot (best memorial)
25. Campus Law Centre Delhi 3 SP Sathe (runners up)
25. GNLU Gandhinagar 3 IICLAM (runners-up)

Click here for an updated (February 2010) list of the scoring criteria we are using.

1.       Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best team, best orator), NLIU Tankha (best orator); Nani Palkhiwala (best team); Red Cross Asia Pacific (Semi finalist, Honurable mention for best memorial)

Click to show 2 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.