•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

NLSIU back on top of MPL season arch-rival Nalsar


NLSIU Bangalore has wrested back the top spot in the Mooting Premier League (MPL) after beating rival Nalsar Hyderabad at the Philip C. Jessup South India rounds.

The finals of the competition witnessed the top two teams of the MPL slugging it out against each other at the competition organised by the University of Madras from 29 to 31 January 2010.

The NLSIU Bangalore team of Raag Yadava, V.Niranjan, Gautam Bhatia and Subhana Nair ultimately defeated the Nalsar Hyderebad team of Shatadru Chakraborthy, Dhananjaya Mishra, Ashish Pareek and Brajendru Bhaskar in the finals.  

The team from NUALS Kochi bagged the best memorial and climbed to 12th position in the MPL table.

NLSIU's win for 10 points in the MPL and Nalsar's runner-up score of 7 points would have meant that the two teams were tied for first place.

However, NLSIU veteran mooter V. Niranjan broke the tie after winning the best orator award, thus giving NLSIU 7 valuable points and re-gifting it the pole position. Niranjan was also awarded best speaker in the finals.

Both NLSIU and Nalsar have now qualified for the world finals of Jessup that will be held in Washington D.C. from 21 to 27 March 2010.

They will be accompanied by the teams from NLU, Jodhpur and LC-1, Delhi University who have qualified from the Jessups North India rounds.

NLS points gain of 17 from Jessups South means the law school now again leads the MPL rankings with 73 points.

Nalsar Hyderabad is now 7 points behind with 66 points, having won the top spot for the first time in mid-January after its KK Luthra win.

Nalsar's Ashish Pareek said: "Jessup is just an exciting competition and no other competition even comes close. It was amazing to work on the Jessup problem this year which, of course, was factually complex and demanded a grasp on the fundamental concepts of the subjects involved."

"Although, we could not win the Jessup Nationals, we hope that we would better our performance in the World Rounds," he said, adding that he would hope to level the scores with NLSIU at the Jessup World Rounds.

NLU Jodhpur is a distant third with 37 points, with NLIU Bhopal hot on its heels with 34.

The battle for the pole position continues this weekend where NLSIU and Nalsar will be battling for the top honours at GIMC organised by GNLU Gandhinagar.

Click here for the latest updated tiers of the MPL. This is very likely to be the final list for this year's mooting season.

Also have a look at this
cut-out-and-keep MPL season calendar as a handy guide of all competitions that are still coming up in the MPL.

2009-10 Legally India Mooting Premier League table

Law school Points Wins
1. NLSIU Bangalore 73 Manfred Lachs (best team, best orator); Stetson South (best advocate), Bar Council of India (best orator); KK Luthra (best memorial); MM Singhvi (best researcher); Jessups South (best team, best orator)
Nalsar Hyderabad 66
IICLAM (best memorial); Henry Dunant Indian rounds (runners-up); Surana Trial Advocacy South (best team, best memorial); Nani Palkhiwala (best memorial), Bar Council of India (best team); KK Luthra (runners-up, best speaker); NLIU Tankha (runners-up, best memo); MM Singhvi (best memo); Jessups South (runner-up)
NLU Jodhpur 37
Nalsar B.R.Sawney (runners-up); Stetson North (best team, best memorial); Jessups North (best team, best orator)
4. NLIU Bhopal 34
All India Corporate Law Moot (runners-up, best orator); Nalsar B.R.Sawney (best team, best orator, best memorial); Stetson South (best memorial); MM Singhvi (runners-up)
5. School of Excellence Chennai 29
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best team, best orator), NLIU Tankha (best orator); Nani Palkhiwala (best team)
6. Amity Law School IP University Delhi 25
IICLAM (best team & best orator); Stetson North (runner-up), Jessups North (best memorial)
Law Centre I (LC-I) Delhi University 14
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best memorial), Jessups North (runner-up)
8. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law (RGNUL) Patiala
13 Henry Dunant national rounds (best researcher); NLIU Tankha (best team)
9. Government Law College (GLC) Mumbai 12 KK Luthra (best team); MM Singhvi (best team)
10. NUJS Kolkata 11
All India Corporate Law Moot (best team, best researcher)
10. University Institute of Laws PURC, Ludhiana
11 Surana trial advocacy north rounds (best team, best orator)
12. Kerala Law Academy Thiruvananthapuram 10 Stetson South (best team)
12. Nuals Kochi 10 Surana Trial Advocacy North (runners-up); Jessups South (best memorial)
14. Symbiosis, Pune 8 Nani Palkhiwala (runners up, best orator)
14. UILS Punjab 8 Surana Trial advocacy South (runners up, best orator)
16. HNLU Raipur 7 Stetson North (best orator)
16. ILS Law College Pune 7 Bar Council of India (runners-up)
16. New Law College Bharati Vidyapeeth University Pune 7 Stetson South (runner-up)
19. Government Law College Ernakulam 5 MM Singhvi (best orator)
19. Institute of Law, Nirma University, Ahmedabad 5 Surana Trial Advocacy North (best memorial)
19. ULC Bangalore 5 All India Corporate Law Moot (best memorial)
22. GNLU Gandhinagar 3 IICLAM (runners-up)

Click here for an updated (February 2010) list of the scoring criteria we are using.

Click to show 28 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.