•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

DM Harish Moot: Nalsar on top again, strong GLC show


In the Tier 3 DM Harish moot Nalsar Hyderabad has drawn back to the tied top of the league table, while the young team from NLU Delhi won and made its debut in the rankings as Government Law College Mumbai broke into a strong sixth place.

NLU Delhi was only founded in 2008 but the team nevertheless picked up 10 points in Legally India's Mooting Premier League (MPL) after beating ILS Pune in the finals.

NLU Delhi's team consisted of Akshay Bagartet, Shreya Rastogi and Ankit Chauhan.

The ILS Pune team of Neerav Pandya, Yogesh Raavi and Kunal Anand won 7 points as runner-up and is now tied for eight place with Law Centre-I of Delhi University on 14 points.

Anusha Sinha from Nalsar Hyderabad won best researcher and made up for NLSIU Bangalore's win last week at Jessups North, re-claiming the joint MPL top-spot.

The rivalry between NLSIU Bangalore and Nalsar Hyderabad has been a neck-on-neck race throughout this season.

However, the big MPL winners of the DM Harish competition held last weekend (12-14 February) were the organisers Government Law College (GLC) Mumbai.

The GLC team's Prateek Bagaria won best speaker and the GLC team also picked up best memorial, giving the college 14 points and propelling it into sixth place after its wins in the KK Luthra and MM Singhvi moots.

A total of 25 teams, with 10 foreign teams competed in the moot. The problem concerned a dispute before the International Court of Justice over a trade blockade.

GLC Mumbai co-convenor Shanelle Irani said: "Accordig to me the mooting quality of all over the world went up and was way better than the last year. It was at least 50 per cent better and all the judges had the same comments."

She added that the teams each prepared for six months. "The research was unbelievable – I think this year the mooting quality went to a different level."

Jeff Hansford from the University of Kent was judged to be the second best speaker, NLSIU Bangalore won the second best memorial and Sandillen Callipen of the University of Mauritius was second best researcher.

We are still getting final confirmation of the winners of the KLA Moot Court Competition in Kerala and the Surana Corporate moot. [Correction - Nalsar has definitely scored points but we are still confirming the results in other categories.]

Click here for the latest updated tiers of the MPL.

Also have a look at this
cut-out-and-keep MPL season calendar as a handy guide of all competitions that are still coming up in the MPL.

2009-10 Legally India Mooting Premier League table

Law school Points Wins
Nalsar Hyderabad 73
IICLAM (best memorial); Henry Dunant Indian rounds (runners-up); Surana Trial Advocacy South (best team, best memorial); Nani Palkhiwala (best memorial), Bar Council of India (best team); KK Luthra (runners-up, best speaker); NLIU Tankha (runners-up, best memo); MM Singhvi (best memo); Jessups South (runner-up); DH Harish (best researcher)
1. NLSIU Bangalore 73 Manfred Lachs (best team, best orator); Stetson South (best advocate), Bar Council of India (best orator); KK Luthra (best memorial); MM Singhvi (best researcher); Jessups South (best team, best orator)
NLU Jodhpur 37
Nalsar B.R.Sawney (runners-up); Stetson North (best team, best memorial); Jessups North (best team, best orator)
4. NLIU Bhopal 34
All India Corporate Law Moot (runners-up, best orator); Nalsar B.R.Sawney (best team, best orator, best memorial); Stetson South (best memorial); MM Singhvi (runners-up)
5. School of Excellence Chennai 29
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best team, best orator), NLIU Tankha (best orator); Nani Palkhiwala (best team)
Government Law College (GLC) Mumbai 26
KK Luthra (best team); MM Singhvi (best team); DM Harish (best orator, best memorial)
Amity Law School IP University Delhi 25
IICLAM (best team & best orator); Stetson North (runner-up), Jessups North (best memorial)
ILS Law College Pune
Bar Council of India (runners-up); DM Harish (runners-up)
Law Centre I (LC-I) Delhi University 14
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best memorial), Jessups North (runner-up)
10. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law (RGNUL) Patiala
13 Henry Dunant national rounds (best researcher); NLIU Tankha (best team)
11. NUJS Kolkata 11
All India Corporate Law Moot (best team, best researcher)
Symbiosis, Pune
Nani Palkhiwala (runners up, best orator); GNLU International Moot Court (runners up)
11. University Institute of Laws PURC, Ludhiana
11 Surana trial advocacy north rounds (best team, best orator)
14. Kerala Law Academy Thiruvananthapuram 10 Stetson South (best team)
NLU Delhi
DM Harish (best team)
14. Nuals Kochi 10 Surana Trial Advocacy North (runners-up); Jessups South (best memorial)
17. UILS Punjab 8 Surana Trial advocacy South (runners up, best orator)
18. HNLU Raipur 7 Stetson North (best orator)
18. New Law College Bharati Vidyapeeth University Pune 7 Stetson South (runner-up)
CNLU Patna
GNLU International Moot (best memorial)
20. Government Law College Ernakulam 5 MM Singhvi (best orator)
20. Institute of Law, Nirma University, Ahmedabad 5 Surana Trial Advocacy North (best memorial)
20. ULC Bangalore 5 All India Corporate Law Moot (best memorial)
24. GNLU Gandhinagar 3 IICLAM (runners-up)

Click here for an updated (February 2010) list of the scoring criteria we are using.
Best Team- NLU, Delhi 2nd Best Team- ILS, Pune   Best Speaker- Prateek Bagaria (Governement Law College) 2nd Best Speaker- Jeff Hansford (University of Kent)   Best Memorial- Government Law College, Mumbai 2nd Best Memorial- NLSIU, Bangalore   Best Researcher- Anusha Sinha (NALSAR, Hyderabad) 2nd Best Researcher- Sandillen Callipen, (University of Mauritius) 

Click to show 12 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.