•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

NLSIU clean sweeps Jessup South to widen MPL gulf; Judge criticises judges

MPL 4: The home of Indian mooting
MPL 4: The home of Indian mooting

NLSIU Bangalore defeated GLC Mumbai to win the 2013 edition of the Jessup South India Rounds last weekend, also going on to win the best memorial award with Raag Yadava bagging the best overall speaker citation.

NLSIU earned a massive 40 MPL points from the competition, further strengthening its position at the top of the MPL 4 table.

NLSIU now looks all set to dominate the table for the rest of this season of the Mooting Premier League (MPL) sponsored by Herbert Smith Freehills.

The runner-up team from GLC Mumbai will also be going for the Jessup world rounds, to be held on 31 March - 6 April in Washington DC. The college climbed to 10th place from 14th in the MPL after earning 10 points.

SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law Mumbai and Nalsar Hyderabad lost out in the semi-finals.

SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law, Mumbai, moved from 22nd to 18th place and Nalsar moved up from 8th to 7th after both colleges earned 5 points each from this competition.

One judge in the preliminary rounds told Legally India that NLSIU was “quite impressive”, although the “level of questioning” was not very high. “The judges were to blame. Some I thought hadn't read the problem at all which meant they made decisions without asking questions,” he said.

This year’s competition was held at Nuals Kochi on Sunday 27 January.

Coming up next in the MPL:

1. GNLU International Moot : 6th to 10th Feb
2. DM Harish Moot : 7th to 10th Feb
3. KLA Moot : 7th to 9th Feb
4. ICC Moot, Paris : 8th to 13th Feb

International law firm Herbert Smith is sponsoring the Mooting Premier League (MPL) and will contribute a prize pool of Rs 60,000 for the top three winning colleges.

Mooting Premier League 4 season standings

Pos Law school T1 T2 T3 T4 T5 Org W R/u S/F B S B M/R HM Pts Details
1 NLSIU Bangalore 100   80 4 13   3 1 1 2 2   197 (Rizvi Moot) (Semis); (Surana Trial Adv - South) (gold); (Manfred Lachs Space Moot World Rounds) (gold, best memo, best orator);(Stetson South India)(gold);(Oxford Media Law National Qualifiers)(Silver, Best orator);KK Luthra Criminal Law Moot (Semifinalists) ; Jessup South Rounds (Winners)(Best Memo)(Best Speaker);
2 NLU Delhi     90 4 6 1 3   3   1   101 (HMMCC (Semis]](Henry Dunant) (gold); (NLU Delhi Corp Moot) (organiser); (NLIU Juris Corp) (Semis); (Oxford Media Law National Qualifiers)(Gold, best memo);(Commonwealth Moot National Rounds)(semis); (Stetson North Rounds) (Runners Up) (Best Orator]], Jessup North (win)
3 NLU Jodhpur     30 19 21   2 1 5 2     70 (Henry Dunant) (silver); (Surana Trial Adv - North) (semis); (B.R Sawhney Moot) (semis) ; (NLIU Juris Corp) (Semis); (Oxford Media Law National Qualifiers) (Semis);(Commonwealth Moot National Rounds) (Winners) (Best Speaker), Jessup North (semis, best speaker);(KK Luthra) (Winners)
4 HNLU Raipur     10 16 41 1 2 2   1 4   68 Nani Palkhivala (Best Researcher); (Pro Bono) (Runner's Up, Best speaker, Best researcher, Best memorial) (Rizvi Moot) (silver) (Justice Hidayatullah Moot) (organizer) (Stetson North Rounds) (Best Memorial); Surana Trial North East (winner, best orator) (KK Luthra) (Best Memorial)
5 NUJS Kolkata       16 40   2 2   4     56 (HMMCC (Best team)(Best speaker) (Nani Palkhivala (runners up); (BR Sawhney (Best speaker);(SLCU Moot (Gold, Best speaker); Surana Trial North East: (runner-up); (KK Luthra) (Best Speaker)
6 RMLNLU Lucknow     30   20   1 2     2   50 (NLU Delhi Corp Moot) (gold, best researcher); (Surana Trial Adv - North) (best memo);(Stetson North Rounds) (winners), Jessup North (runner-up)
7 Nalsar Hyderabad     5 8 25 1 1 1   1 2   39 (HMMCC (Runners up); (Rizvi Moot) (Best team); (B.R Sawhney Moot) (organisers); (NLIU Juris Corp) (Best Speaker);(FDI Moot (Best Memorial);(Commonwealth Moot National Rounds) (Best Memo); Jessup South (Semifinalists)
8 Jindal Global Law School     20 8 10   1   2   2   38 (Nani Palkhivala) (Best Memorial)(Henry Dunant) (best researcher, semis); (Surana Trial Adv - North) (gold); (Oxford Media Law National Qualifiers)(Semis)
9 ILS Pune     5 15 10   1 1 1   1   30 (HMMCC) (Best researcher); (SLCU Moot) (silver); (NLIU Juris Corp) (gold); (Stetson South India)(Semis)
10 GLC Mumbai     20 8           1     28 (Henry Dunant) (Best Speaker);(Surana Trial Advocacy South) (Runners Up) (NLU Delhi Corp Law Moot) (Semifinalist); Jessup South Rounds (Runners Up)
11 Faculty of Law, Jamia Milia Islamia University     10 8 10     1   1 1   28 Nani Palkhivala (Best speaker); Henry Dunant (Best memo); Surana Trial adv-North (Silver, bet speaker)
12 GNLU Gandhinagar     5 15 8       1 1   1 28 (Nani Palkhivala) (best team); (NLU Delhi Corp Moot) (Best team);(FDI Moot) (Honourable Mention);Jessup North (semis)
13 RGNUL Patiala       16 5     2 1       21 (Nani Palkhivala) (Semis); (NLU Delhi Corp Moot) (semis); B. R Sawhney Moot (runners up); (NLIU Juris Corp) (silver);
14 CNLU Patna     20         1     1   20 (Stetson South) (Silver), Jessup North (best memo)
15 NUALS Kochi     10   5     1     1   15 (NLU Delhi Corp Moot) (silver); (Stetson South) (Best memo)
16 ULC Bangalore         15   1       1   15 (NLU Delhi Corp Moot) (best memo);(Pro-bono Enviro Moot (Winners)
17 Nirma University     10   3       2       13 (Henry Dunant) (semis); (Pro Bono) Semis;(Stetson North Rounds) (semis)
18 SVKM's Pravin Gandhi College of Law     5   8       1   1   13 (SLCU Moot) (best memo, semis); Jessup South (Semifinalists)
19 NLU Orissa       8 5           2   13 (B.R Sawhney Moot) (Best Memorial); (NLIU Juris Corp) (Best Memorial);
20 NLIU Bhopal       4 8 1     2   1   13 HMMCC (Semis)(Best memorial); (Nani Palkhivala (semis); NLIU Juris Corp (Organizers);
21 Amity Law School Noida         13       1 1 1   13 (Rizvi Moot) (Semis, best speaker, best memorial);
22 KLA, Trivandrum     10             1     10 (Stetson South) (Best orator)
23 Department of Law, North-Eastern Hill University     10             1     10 (Henry Dunant) (Best speaker);
24 KIIT School of Law         10   1           10 (B.R Sawhney Moot) (Winners) ;
25 Amity Law School,Delhi     5   3       2       8 (Commonwealth Moot) (semis) (Stetson North Rounds) (semis)
26 Symbiosis, Pune       8             1   8 (NLIU Juris Corp) Best Researcher
27 School of Legal Studies, CUSAT Kochi         8       1   1   8 (Surana Trial Adv - South) (best memo, semis);
28 School of Law, Sastra University, Thanjavur       0 6       2       6 (Surana Trial Adv - South) (semis); (Pro Bono) (Semis)
29 V.M. Salgaoncar, Goa     5           1       5 (Stetson South) (Semis)
30 A K K New Law Academy, Pune         5     1         5 (Commonwealth Moot National Rounds) (Runner's Up)
31 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune         5         1     5 (Surana Trial Adv - South) (best speaker);
32 Lucknow University Faculty of Law         5             1 5 (Surana Trial Adv - North East: memo
33 Campus Law Centre, New Delhi         4       1       4 (KK Luthra) (Semifinalists)

For more information please refer to the MPL 4 rulebook.

Click to show 24 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.