•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

MPL 3: NLU Jodhpur stays ahead of NLSIU, both shine at Nani Palkhivala and Hidayatullah moots

Mooting Premier League 2011-12 - MPL3
Mooting Premier League 2011-12 - MPL3
NLSIU Bangalore defeated RMLNLU Lucknow at the coveted Tier 4 Nani Palkhivala Tax Moot, taking home fifteen points.

But NLU Jodhpur swept the Justice Hidayatullah Moot after beating rivals NUJS Kolkata in the finals and winning both the best speaker and best memorandum awards.

NLU Jodhpur earned 20 points last weekend and continues to lead the MPL 3 Standings ahead of NLS Bangalore by five points.

Nani Palkhivala – NLS Bangalore v. RMLNLU Lucknow

Nani Palkhivala winners NLSIU, runners up RMLNLU
Nani Palkhivala winners NLSIU, runners up RMLNLU
NLSIU Bangalore triumphed at the top tax moot after getting past RMLNLU Lucknow in the final rounds. While Symbiosis Law School, Pune bagged the best memorandum award, GNLU Gandhinagar and HNLU Raipur finished as semifinalists, and GNLU also picked up the best researcher award. HNLU speaker Karandeep Makkar also won the best speaker award. Twenty six teams participated in the moot.

The NLSIU team consisted of speakers Ashwita Ambast and Sahil Kher along with researcher Amber Sinha. Sinha said that the fact that the moot was a high profile taxation law moot in the country made it a unique experience. “Significant number of rounds were judged by ITAT members and the final round bench consisted of Bombay High Court judges. The judging was better than most other moots, in the sense that the judges had a better sense of understanding the issues at hand. The problem involved a writ appeal and there were not many judgments on the issue. This made it more challenging and creative.”

He stated that most of the teams that NLSIU faced were quite impressive and a few rounds were closely fought. He also appreciated the moot organisation. “Credit to GLC to come up with such a well-structured moot.”

The moot was organised by GLC Mumbai in collaboration with the ITAT Bar Association, Mumbai and the All India Federation of Tax Practitioners. Organiser Komal Modi from GLC was satisfied with this year’s moot. “The response we received was better than last year. The competition was good and most of the rounds took place at the premises of the Income Tax Appellate Tribunal, Mumbai itself.”

Justice Hidayatullah Moot – NLU Jodhpur v. NUJS Kolkata

Hidayatullah winner Mannem Aamani, NLU Jodhpur, receives giant cheque
Hidayatullah winner Mannem Aamani, NLU Jodhpur, receives giant cheque
NLU Jodhpur made it past last year’s MPL runners-up NUJS Kolkata in the final round of the moot. RGNUL Patiala and SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law were knocked out in the semis. While NUJS won the best researcher award, NLU Jodhpur brought home both the best speaker and the best memorandum awards.

The NLU Jodhpur team consisted of Vishal Sagar, Mannem Aamani and Roshini Namboodary. Sagar, who also won the best speaker award, appreciated the judging standards and the moot organisation. “The quality of judging was pretty high, especially after the prelim rounds. The best teams that I faced were in the final rounds against NUJS and semis against SVKM. The moot problem was a combination of patent law and the competition law. The competition law angle was completely new and this made it quite challenging. The moot was also organised very well.”

He also mentioned that he was glad that the team helped Jodhpur continue its lead in the MPL Standings. “It means a lot to the students of the college and I am happy to have won the moot.”

The moot, currently in its fourth year, was organised by HNLU Raipur in collaboration with the Competition Commission of India (CCI) and Saikrishna & Associates.

Mohit Singh, a member of the moot organising team, said that the quality of participating teams has increased over the years. “Twenty four teams participated in the moot this time. The judges at the moot included Justice Ravindra Bhatt and Justice S. Murlidhar from the Delhi High Court, Justice Bhadoo, Mr. J. Sai Deepak from Saikrishna & Associates and IP law blogger Rajiv Chowdhary.”

Join the MPL Facebook page to be the first to find out moot results updates as they happen.

Mooting Premier League 3 season standings

Pos Law school Pts Details
1 NLU Jodhpur 60 [Hidayatullah] (gold, best speaker, best memo); Dunant (best memo); Trial Adv North (silver, best speaker, best memo); IICLAM (gold);
2 NLSIU Bangalore 55 [Palkhivala] (gold); Dunant (silver); B.R. Sawhney (gold); Trial Adv South (silver); Raj Anand Moot (semis); Maritime Arbitration (silver, best memo, hon men for best resp memo);
3 GLC Mumbai 31 Trial Adv South (gold, best speaker); IICLAM (Best Memo); Raj Anand Moot (silver);
4 NUJS Kolkata 31 [Hidayatullah] (silver, best researcher); B.R. Sawhney (semis);SLCU Moot (silver, best speaker, best memo); Trial Adv North (semis);

GNLU Gandhinagar


[Palkhivala] (best researcher, semis); B.R. Sawhney (silver); Trial Adv North (gold);

6 Campus Law Centre Delhi 23 Raj Anand Moot (gold, best speaker);
7 NLIU Bhopal 22 SLCU Moot (gold); Raj Anand Moot (semis, best memo);
8 Nalsar Hyderabad 21 Dunant (gold); B.R. Sawhney organiser;
9 School of Law, Christ University, Bangalore 17 IICLAM (silver, best speaker); SLCU organiser;
11 HNLU Raipur 16 [Palkhivala] (best speaker, semis); Hidayatullah organiser; SLCU Moot (semis);
10 Jindal Global Law School 15 Dunant (best speaker, semis);
12 Symbiosis Law School, Pune 12 [Palkhivala] (best memo); IICLAM (semis);
13 RMLNLU Lucknow 11 [Palkhivala] (silver); Trial Adv North (semis);
14 ILS Pune 11 B.R. Sawhney (best speaker, semis); Trial Adv South (semis);
15 RGNUL Patiala 8 [Hidayatullah] (semis); B.R. Sawhney (best memo);
16 NLU Delhi 7 Dunant (semis); IICLAM organiser;
17 SOEL Chennai 5 Trial Adv South (best memo);
18 KLE Bangalore 4 IICLAM (semis);
19 ULC Bangalore 3 SLCU Moot (semis);
19 School of Law, Sastra University, Thanjavur 3 Trial Adv South (semis);
19 SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law 3 [Hidayatullah] (semis);

For more information please refer to the MPL 3 rulebook.

Click to show 38 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.