•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences
An estimated 4-minute read
 Email  Facebook  Tweet  Linked-in

The 11th edition of the NUJS National Corporate Law Moot Court Competition 2019 to be held in association with Herbert Smith Freehills LLP will be conducted in the West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences campus from the 25th of January to the 27th of January, 2019. Over the last decade the NUJS-HSF Moot has gained a reputation as one of the foremost corporate law moots in the country.

The 11th edition will witness the participation of teams from 24 leading law schools from across the country. Like previous editions the moot will be judged by a stellar pool of judges which will include legal practitioners excelling in the field of corporate law, litigation, academia, etc. and will serve as a unique opportunity for students to showcase their understanding of corporate and commercial laws before them. This panel will include Mr. Chris Parsons(Partner and Chairman of the HSF India Group) and Mr. Nicholas Peacock (Partner and Head of India Disputes). It aims to provide a platform for law students to learn about the rich and complex field of Indian corporate law and sharpen their advocacy skills.

The moot problem has been drafted by Rhodes Scholar and Barrister at One Essex Court, Mr. Niranjan Venkatesan and is based on contemporary issues in corporate and commercial law in India.

The blog will go live tomorrow at 4:30 pm with updates on the event.


 Day 1:

16:48: Registration

Good Evening everyone! The registration for the 11th edition of the NUJS-HSF moot court competition has started. The colleges that will be participating in the moot are 

  1. NALSAR university of law
  2. Government Law College, Mumbai
  3. National Law University, Delhi
  4. National Law Institute University, Bhopal
  5. National Law University, Jodhpur
  6. National Law School India University, Bangalore 
  7. Indian Law Society Law College 
  8. Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar
  9. Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur
  10. O.P Jindal Global University
  11. National Law University, Jodhpur
  12. Amity Law School, Delhi
  13. Campus Law Centre, University of Delhi
  14. Symbiosis Law School, Noida
  15. School of Law, Christ
  16. The National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi
  17. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala, Punjab
  18. School of Law, SASTRA
  19. Symbiosis Law School, Pune
  20. National University of Study and Research in Law, Ranchi
  21. Maharasthra National Law University, Aurangabad
  22. Institute of Law, Nirma University of Ahmedabad
  23. Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia National Law University, Lucknow

18:59: Opening Ceremony


The opening ceremony witnessed the presence of the participating teams. Mr. Chris Parsons, the partner and chairman of the HSF India group and Mr. Nicholas Peacock, Partner and Head of India Disputes graced the occasion with their presence. The welcome address was delivered by Ms. Paramita Dasgupta, faculty advisor of the NUJS Moot Court Society. Mr. Aryan Agarwal the convenor of the NUJS Moot Court Society thanked her for the inspirational and insightful speech after which he declared the conference formally open. 

Day 2:



Good morning everyone! On account of the 70th Republic Day, celebrations were held in the campus. A picture of the same has been attached. Parallely the judges briefing was held in room 107.The participants are now all geared up to present their cases. We wish them the best of luck! 

12:30: The preliminary round one has ended. The participants have proceeded for lunch.


14:30: Preliminary round two has begun. 

16:30: Preliminary round 2 has ended. Participants break for refreshments.

17:30: Quarter Finals 

The quarter finals have begun. 8 teams fight it out to reach take home the winning trophy. We congratulate the following teams who have qualified for the quarter finals (in no particular order).

  1. National Law School Institute University, Bangalore
  2. National Law University, Odisha
  3. National Law University, Jodhpur
  4. Institute of Law, Nirma University of Ahmedabad
  5. The National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi
  6. School of Law, SASTRA
  7. National Law Institute University, Bhopal 
  8. National Law University, Delhi

 Day 3: 

09:30: Judges Briefing

Good morning everyone, the judges briefing has ended. As the competition gets tougher the day will witness the knockout stages of the tournament where teams will battle it out in the finals and the semi finals to emerge victorious.

10:35: Semi Finals

The teams that have qualified for the semi finals are (in no particular order):

  1. National Law Institute University, Bhopal
  2. National Law University, Odisha
  3. School of Law, SASTRA
  4. National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi

12:20: 68th Informal Discussion Group session with Mr. Chris Parsons, Mr. Nicholas Peacock and Ms. Shruti Rajan

The Informal Discussion group is organising its 68th session with Mr. Chris Parsons (Partner and Chairman of HSF India Group), Mr. Nicholas Peacock (Partner and Head of India Disputes) and Ms. Shruti Ranjan (Partner, Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas and batch of 2007 alumna from NUJS). The talk will cover the theme "Life in a Corporate Law Firm".

15:13: Finals

The finals have begun and are in full swing with the teams bringing out the best arguments to take phone the title of winner. The two teams that have made it to the finals are National Law Institute University, Bhopal and National Law University, Odisha. We wish the teams the best of luck!

Results: The finals were won by the National Law University, Odisha with National Law University, Bhopal emerging as the runners up. Congrats!

Click to show 19 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.