•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

NUJS breaks it down to Nalsar at HNLU Justice Hidayatullah Moot

MPL 4: The home of Indian mooting
MPL 4: The home of Indian mooting

NUJS Kolkata defeated Nalsar Hyderabad and orated with panache at HNLU Raipur’s fifth Justice Hidayatullah Memorial national moot on Sunday, soaring to second spot in Mooting Premiere League (MPL) 4 standings, sponsored by Herbert Smith Freehills, right behind Lachs world round winners NLSIU Bangalore.

The tier five moot win along with the best speaker prize spiked NUJS’ MPL 4 total to 43 points, while Nalsar, and semi finalists NLU Delhi and NLIU Bhopal – with its best memorial - also inched upward.

Shantanu Singh from ILS Pune picked up the best researcher award.

Akshat Gupta, Aanchal Dalal and Adrija Das were part of the winning team, while Divyang Trivedi, Swarnarekha and Pradeep were runners up.

Gupta who was the best speaker said: “Justice SK Sinha mentioned in his [valedictory] speech that at times you have to break it down into very very simple arguments, which are really easy to understand. I think we were able to do that and we tried to keep it purely on logic.”

The winners won a free subscription for a year to a case reports database in addition to a cash prize.

20 teams reasoned on competition and investment law, after 24 teams made it past an elimination round based on judging of the written submissions from around 30 law schools which had originally entered the competition.

International law firm Herbert Smith is sponsoring the Mooting Premier League (MPL) and will contribute a prize pool of Rs 60,000 for the top three winning colleges.

Mooting Premier League 4 season standings

Pos Law school T1 T2 T3 T4 T5 Org W R/u S/F B S B M/R HM Pts Details
1 NLSIU Bangalore 100       13   2     1 1   113 [Rizvi Moot] (Semis); [Surana Trial Adv - South] (gold); [Manfred Lachs Space Moot World Rounds] (gold, best memo, best orator)
2 NUJS Kolkata       8 35   1     2     43 [HMMCC (Best team)(Best speaker)] [Nani Palkhivala (runners up)][BR Sawhney (Best peaker)][SLCU Moot (Gold, Best speaker)]
3 Jindal Global Law School     15 8 10   1   1   1   33 [Nani Palkhivala] (Best Memorial)][Henry Dunant] (best researcher, semis); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (gold);
4 Faculty of Law, Jamia Milia Islamia University     10 8 10     1   1 1   28 [Nani Palkhivala (Best speaker)][Henry Dunant (Best memo)Surana Trial adv-North (Silver, bet speaker)]
5 [[NLU Delhi     20   3 1 1           24 [HMMCC (Semis)][Henry Dunant] (gold); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (organiser);
6 GNLU Gandhinagar       15 5         1     20 [Nani Palkhivala] (best team); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (Best team)
7 RMLNLU Lucknow         20   1       2   20 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (gold, best researcher); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (best memo);
8 GLC Mumbai     10 8           1     18 Henry Dunant (Best speaker)
9 NLU Jodhpur     10   6     1 2       16 [Henry Dunant] (silver); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (semis); [B.R Sawhney Moot] (semis) ;
10 Nalsar Hyderabad         15 1             16 [HMMCC (Runners up)] [Rizvi Moot] (Best team); [B.R Sawhney Moot] (organisers)
11 HNLU Raipur       8 5 2             15 Nani Palkhivala (Best Researcher)
12 RGNUL Patiala       4 8     1 1       14 [Nani Palkhivala] (Semis); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (semis); B. R Sawhney Moot (runners up)
13 Amity Law School Noida         13               13 [Rizvi Moot] (Semis) (Best speaker) (Best memorial)
14 NLIU Bhopal       4 8               12 [HMMCC (Semis)(Best memorial)][Nani Palkhivala (semis)]
15 ILS Pune         10     1         11 [HMMCC] (Best researcher); [SLCU Moot] (silver);
16 Department of Law, North-Eastern Hill University     10             1     10 [Henry Dunant] (best speaker);
17 KIIT School of Law         10   1           10 [B.R Sawhney Moot] (Winners) ;
18 School of Legal Studies, CUSAT Kochi         8       1   1   8 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (best memo, semis);
19 SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law         8       1   1   8 [SLCU Moot] (best memo, semis);
20 Nirma University     5           1       5 [Henry Dunant] (semis);
21 NUALS Kochi         5     1         5 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (silver);
22 ULC Bangalore         5           1   5 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (best memo);
23 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune         5         1     5 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (best speaker);
24 NLU Orissa         5           1   5 [B.R Sawhney Moot] (Best Memorial) ;
25 Army Institute of Law, Mohali         3       1       3 [Surana Trial Adv - North] (semis);
26 Faculty of Law, IFHE Hyderabad         3       1       3 [SLCU Moot] (semis);
27 Campus Law Centre. Delhi         3       1       3 [B.R Sawhnhey Moot] (semis);
28 School of Law, Sastra University, Thanjavur         3       1       3 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (semis);
29 School of Law, Christ University, Bangalore           1             1 [SLCU Moot] (organiser);
30 Rizvi Law College         1               1 Rizvi Moot (organisers)

For more information please refer to the MPL 3 rulebook.

Click to show 4 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.