•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

NLU Delhi wins Jessup North moot for hattrick, NLU-J, RMLNLU leap to MPL 3rd, 4th

MPL 4: The home of Indian mooting
MPL 4: The home of Indian mooting

NLU Delhi won against RMLNLU Lucknow at the Jessup North India Rounds, giving Delhi its third win this season of the Mooting Premier League sponsored by Herbert Smith Freehills, and pushing RMLNLU from fifth to fourth place in the rankings.

NLU Jodhpur and GNLU Gandhinagar lost out in the semi-finals of the moot, while CNLU grabbed the best memorandum award and Sagnik Das of NLU Jodhpur took home the title of best orator at the competition held at Symbiosis Noida from 18 to 20 January 2013.

NLUD and RMLNLU will represent India in the international rounds of the moot to be held at Washington DC.

The winning team of NLU Delhi comprised of speakers Naman Joshi, Deepika Sriram for the applicants, and Nooreen Sarna and Aayush Srivastava for the respondents and researchers Devashsish Chauhan.

Joshi was elated about the win. “I’m very happy to say that once again I am a part of the Jessup North India winning team and took NLUD to heights. My previous experience in Jessup, support rendered by our faculty and juniors are all contributing factors towards this success,” he said.

“All of us in the team were classmates and we had an amicable atmosphere to work on. Thus the team co ordination we had enhanced our research quality and confidence. The moot problem was focused on real life situations. We had to scrutinize issues falling under humanitarian laws, environmental law and sovereign debts. The judges were moderate except in the finals where we had a bit aggressive judges. The semi final round against GNLU was the toughest round that we had.”

Joshi also added that he was optimistic about NLU Delhi’s further growth in the MPL. “Of course NLU Delhi is conquering Mooting Premier League Season 4 and I indeed feel that NLU Delhi would occupy the first position by the end of this season.”

The members of the RMLNLU team were Bhaskar Subramanian, Vartika Jain, Deb Datta Ray, Pasham Mohit and Abhishek Kumar Singh.

The two finalist teams of the competition are now second and fourth in the MPL 4 rankings, with NLU Delhi still 52 points behind NLSIU Bangalore.

Symbiosis, Noida was not eligible for organiser points in the competition because its team will be participating in the Jessup South India Rounds that will be held at Nuals, Cochin.

Write-up for KK Luthra moot, which also happened this weekend, to follow shortly. Please check and ‘like’ the MPL Facebook page for the speediest updates of results.

International law firm Herbert Smith is sponsoring the Mooting Premier League (MPL) and will contribute a prize pool of Rs 60,000 for the top three winning colleges.

Mooting Premier League 4 season standings

PosLaw schoolT1T2T3T4T5OrgWR/uS/FB SB M/RHMPtsDetails
1 NLSIU Bangalore 100 40 13 3 1 2 2 153 [Rizvi Moot] (Semis); [Surana Trial Adv - South] (gold); [Manfred Lachs Space Moot World Rounds] (gold, best memo, best orator);[Stetson South India](gold);[Oxford Media Law National Qualifiers](Silver, Best orator)
2 NLU Delhi 90 4 6 1 3 3 1 101 [HMMCC (Semis)][Henry Dunant] (gold); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (organiser); [NLIU Juris Corp] (Semis); [Oxford Media Law National Qualifiers](Gold, best memo);[Commonwealth Moot National Rounds](semis); [Stetson North Rounds] (Runners Up) (Best Orator)], Jessup North (win)
3 NLU Jodhpur 30 4 21 1 1 5 2 55 [Henry Dunant] (silver); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (semis); [B.R Sawhney Moot] (semis) ; [NLIU Juris Corp] (Semis); [Oxford Media Law National Qualifiers] (Semis);[Commonwealth Moot National Rounds] (Winners) (Best Speaker)], Jessup North (semis, best speaker)
4 RMLNLU Lucknow 30 20 1 2 2 50 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (gold, best researcher); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (best memo);[Stetson North Rounds] (winners), Jessup North (runner-up)
5 HNLU Raipur 10 8 41 1 2 2 1 3 49 Nani Palkhivala (Best Researcher); [Pro Bono] (Runner's Up, Best speaker, Best researcher, Best memorial) [Rizvi Moot] (silver) [Justice Hidayatullah Moot] (organizer) [Stetson North Rounds] (Best Memorial); Surana Trial North East (winner, best orator)
6 NUJS Kolkata 8 45 2 2 3 48 [HMMCC (Best team)(Best speaker)] [Nani Palkhivala (runners up)][BR Sawhney (Best peaker)][SLCU Moot (Gold, Best speaker)]; Surana Trial North East: runner-up
7 Jindal Global Law School 20 8 10 1 2 2 38 [Nani Palkhivala] (Best Memorial)][Henry Dunant] (best researcher, semis); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (gold); [Oxford Media Law National Qualifiers](Semis)
8 Nalsar Hyderabad 8 25 1 1 1 1 2 31 [HMMCC (Runners up)] [Rizvi Moot] (Best team); [B.R Sawhney Moot] (organisers); [NLIU Juris Corp] (Best Speaker);[FDI Moot (Best Memorial)];[Commonwealth Moot National Rounds] (Best Memo);
9 ILS Pune 5 15 10 1 1 1 1 30 [HMMCC] (Best researcher); [SLCU Moot] (silver); [NLIU Juris Corp] (gold); [Stetson South India](Semis)
10 Faculty of Law, Jamia Milia Islamia University 10 8 10 1 1 1 28 [Nani Palkhivala (Best speaker)][Henry Dunant (Best memo)Surana Trial adv-North (Silver, bet speaker)]
11 [[GNLU Gandhinagar 5 15 8 1 1 1 28 [Nani Palkhivala] (best team); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (Best team);[FDI Moot] (Honourable Mention);Jessup North (semis)
12 RGNUL Patiala 12 8 2 1 22 [Nani Palkhivala] (Semis); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (semis); B. R Sawhney Moot (runners up); [NLIU Juris Corp] (silver);
13 CNLU Patna 20 1 1 20 [Stetson South] (Silver), Jessup North (best memo)
14 GLC Mumbai 10 8 1 1 18 Henry Dunant (Best speaker)
15 NUALS Kochi 10 5 1 1 15 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (silver); [Stetson South] (Best memo)
16 ULC Bangalore 15 1 1 15 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (best memo);[Pro-bono Enviro Moot (Winners)
17 NLIU Bhopal 6 8 1 2 1 14 [HMMCC (Semis)(Best memorial)] [Nani Palkhivala (semis)]; [NLIU Juris Corp] (Organizers);
18 Nirma University 10 3 2 13 [Henry Dunant] (semis); [Pro Bono] Semis;[Stetson North Rounds] (semis)
19 NLU Orissa 8 5 2 13 [B.R Sawhney Moot] (Best Memorial); [NLIU Juris Corp] (Best Memorial);
20 Amity Law School Noida 13 1 1 1 13 [Rizvi Moot] (Semis, best speaker, best memorial);
21 KLA, Trivandrum 10 1 10 [Stetson South] (Best orator)
22 Department of Law, North-Eastern Hill University 10 1 10 [Henry Dunant] (Best speaker);
23 KIIT School of Law 10 1 10 [B.R Sawhney Moot] (Winners) ;
24 Amity Law School,Delhi 5 3 2 8 [Commonwealth Moot] (semis) [Stetson North Rounds] (semis)
25 Symbiosis, Pune 8 1 8 [NLIU Juris Corp] Best Researcher
26 School of Legal Studies, CUSAT Kochi 8 1 1 8 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (best memo, semis);
27 SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law 8 1 1 8 [SLCU Moot] (best memo, semis);
28 School of Law, Sastra University, Thanjavur 6 2 6 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (semis); [Pro Bono] (Semis)
29 V.M. Salgaoncar, Goa 5 1 5 [Stetson South] (Semis)
30 A K K New Law Academy, Pune 5 1 5 [Commonwealth Moot National Rounds] (Runner's Up)
31 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune 5 1 5 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (best speaker);
32 Lucknow University Faculty of Law [Surana Trial Adv - North East: memo

For more information please refer to the MPL 4 rulebook.

Click to show 11 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.