•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

Nalsar wins Rizvi moot under GUMP, Amity Noida gains MPL foothold

MPL 4: The home of Indian mooting
MPL 4: The home of Indian mooting

Nalsar Hyderabad defeated HNLU Raipur to post its first Mooting Premier League (MPL) 4 win early on- the fourth RLC Saquib Rizvi Memorial national moot - on 30 September at Rizvi Law College Mumbai.

The tier five win in the MPL 4, sponsored by Herbert Smith Freehills, launched the BR Sawhney organisers from 28th spot two places below HNLU Raipur, in 13th place.

Meanwhile Amity Law School Noida opened its (MPL) 4 account sweeping up semi-finalist points, the best memorial prize and the best speaker prize at the moot and flying straight into 12th place out of nowhere.

Amity Noida’s Avinash KR picked up the best speaker prize.

Avinash said: “Our college is new and doing well in moots is a recent phenomenon for us. This time we went in and we were looking at MPL [points].”

Jaideep Kodali, Mohammed Omer Farooq and researcher Bhavna Pattanaik made up the winning Nalsar team.

Pattanaik said: “This was a first moot for all the three of us. We were actually very nervous but we got better with the rounds and our memorial is what gave us an edge over the other teams.”

24 law schools including NLSIU Bangalore and Nalsar Hyderabad argued it out on the issues of cartelization and anti-competitive practices in relation to rising petrol prices.

The moot had adapted new system of seeding based on memorial marks from the Guidelines for Uniform Moot Practices (The GUMP), which was agreed upon by 18 law schools at NLIU Bhopal at the beginning of this year.

International law firm Herbert Smith Freehills is sponsoring the Mooting Premier League (MPL) and will contribute a prize pool of Rs 60,000 for the top three winning colleges.

Mooting Premier League 4 season standings

Pos Law school T1 T2 T3 T4 T5 Org W R/u S/F B S B M/R HM Pts Details
1 NLSIU Bangalore 100       13   2     1 1   113 [Rizvi Moot] (Semis); [Surana Trial Adv - South] (gold); [Manfred Lachs Space Moot World Rounds] (gold, best memo, best orator)
2 Jindal Global Law School     15 8 10   1   1   1   33 [Nani Palkhivala] (Best Memorial)][Henry Dunant] (best researcher, semis); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (gold);
3 Faculty of Law, Jamia Milia Islamia University     10 8 10     1   1 1   28 [Nani Palkhivala (Best speaker)][Henry Dunant (Best memo)Surana Trial adv-North (Silver, bet speaker)]
4 [[NUJS Kolkata       8 20   1     2     28 [Nani Palkhivala (runners up)][BR Sawhney (Best peaker)][SLCU Moot (Gold, Best speaker)]
5 NLU Delhi     20     1 1           21 [Henry Dunant] (gold); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (organiser);
6 GNLU Gandhinagar       15 5         1     20 [Nani Palkhivala] (best team); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (Best team)
7 RMLNLU Lucknow         20   1       2   20 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (gold, best researcher); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (best memo);
8 GLC Mumbai     10 8           1     18 Henry Dunant (Best speaker)
9 NLU Jodhpur     10   6     1 2       16 [Henry Dunant] (silver); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (semis); [B.R Sawhney Moot] (semis) ;
10 RGNUL Patiala       4 8     1 1       14 [Nani Palkhivala] (Semis); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (semis); B. R Sawhney Moot (runners up)
11 HNLU Raipur 8 5 13 Nani Palkhivala (Best researcher)
12 Amity Law School Noida 13 13 [Rizvi Moot] {Semis};
13 Nalsar Hyderabad 10 1 11

[Rizvi Moot] (Best team); [B.R Sawhney Moot] (organisers)

14 Department of Law, North-Eastern Hill University     10             1     10 [Henry Dunant] (best speaker);
15 KIIT School of Law         10   1           10 [B.R Sawhney Moot] (Winners) ;
16 School of Legal Studies, CUSAT Kochi         8       1   1   8 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (best memo, semis);
17 SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law         8       1   1   8 [SLCU Moot] (best memo, semis);
18 Nirma University     5           1       5 [Henry Dunant] (semis);
19 ILS Pune         5     1         5 [SLCU Moot] (silver);
20 NUALS Kochi         5     1         5 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (silver);
21 ULC Bangalore         5           1   5 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (best memo);
22 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune         5         1     5 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (best speaker);
23 NLU Orissa         5           1   5 [B.R Sawhney Moot] (Best Memorial) ;
24 NLIU Bhopal       4                 4 Nani Palkhivala (semis)
25 Army Institute of Law, Mohali         3       1       3 [Surana Trial Adv - North] (semis);
26 Faculty of Law, IFHE Hyderabad         3       1       3 [SLCU Moot] (semis);
27 Campus Law Centre. Delhi         3       1       3 [B.R Sawhnhey Moot] (semis);
28 School of Law, Sastra University, Thanjavur         3       1       3 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (semis);
29 School of Law, Christ University, Bangalore           1             1 [SLCU Moot] (organiser);
30 Rizvi Law College         1               1 Rizvi Moot (organisers)

For more information please refer to the MPL 3 rulebook.

Click to show 12 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.