•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

KIIT wins Nalsar Sawhney moot v RGNUL, as NLSIU tops MPL4 with 110 points post-Lachs

MPL 4: The home of Indian mooting
MPL 4: The home of Indian mooting

KIIT Law School Bhubaneshwar opened its Mooting Premier League (MPL) 4 account after winning the sixth Edition of the Bodh Raj Sawhney Moot Court Competition at Nalsar Hyderabad against RGNUL Patiala.

KIIT won 10 points in the fourth MPL, which is sponsored by Herbert Smith Freehills.

This year’s competition from 28 to 30 September saw the participation of 37 law schools from within the country. The winning team comprised of oralists Krishna Rao and Komal Mundhra, and researcher Nidhi Singla.

Singla stressed the importance of their win as they were considered to have been underdogs throughout the tournament. “It was a very good experience overall, but the judges and the participants hardly recognised our presence, but we went with the intention of doing our best and didn’t really bother about reputation,” she said.

On the quality of the judging, she said: “We faced minor issues in the beginning but other than that the quality of judging was very good and uniform throughout.”

The bench consisted of Nalsar alumni for the prelims, high court lawyers for the quarters and semis, and the Chief Justice of the High Court of Andhra Pradesh Justice for the finals.

When asked about the toughest team they had to face, the winning team praised the runners-up as their strongest opponents in the competition. “The RGNUL team were very good,” said Singla. “Their memorial was exceptional and well researched and they challenged us in the finals, but in the end I’m glad we were able to pull it off.”

The award for the best speaker went to Yashaswi Kant from NUJS Kolkata and the team from NLU Orissa bagged the award for the best memorial.

NLU Jodhpur and Campus Law Centre Delhi lost in the semi-finals.

With this victory KIIT entered the Mooting Premier League (MPL) at 9th position, ahead of RGNUL Patiala which has added 5 points to its tally to move up to 10th place in the points table.

Other new entrants to the points table are NLU-O at 14th place Campus Law Centre, Delhi at 20, and NALSAR, Hyderabad at 21 with its first point this season for organising the competition.

NLSIU Bangalore, which won the Tier 1 Manfred Lachs moot and cleaned up best memos and best oralist there in early October, now tops the MPL 4 table with 110 points. Jindal Global Law School is 85 points behind in second place.

Two more moots last weekend – update shortly, or check out MPLs Facebook page for all the latest results at http://www.facebook.com/mooting.in

International law firm Herbert Smith is sponsoring the Mooting Premier League (MPL) and will contribute a prize pool of Rs 60,000 for the top three winning colleges.

Mooting Premier League 4 season standings

Pos Law school T1 T2 T3 T4 T5 Org W R/u S/F B S B M/R HM Pts Details
1 NLSIU Bangalore 100 10 2 1 1 110 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (gold); [Manfred Lachs Space Moot World Rounds] (gold, best memo, best orator)
2 Jindal Global Law School 15 10 1 1 1 25 [Henry Dunant] (best researcher, semis); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (gold);
3 NLU Delhi 20 1 1 21 [Henry Dunant] (gold); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (organiser);
4 Faculty of Law, Jamia Milia Islamia University 10 10 1 1 1 20 [Henry Dunant] (best memo); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (silver, best speaker);
5 RMLNLU Lucknow 20 1 2 20 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (gold, best researcher); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (best memo);
6 NUJS Kolkata 20 1 2 20 [SLCU Moot] (gold, best speaker); [B.R Sawhney Moot] (best speaker) ;
7 NLU Jodhpur 10 6 1 2 16 [Henry Dunant] (silver); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (semis); [B.R Sawhney Moot] (semis) ;
8 Department of Law, North-Eastern Hill University 10 1 10 [Henry Dunant] (best speaker);
8 GLC Mumbai 10 1 10 [Henry Dunant] (best speaker);
9 KIIT Bhubaneshwar 10 1 10 [B.R Sawhney Moot] (Winners) ;
10 RGNUL Patiala 8 1 1 8 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (semis); B. R Sawhney Moot (runners up)
10 School of Legal Studies, CUSAT Kochi 8 1 1 8 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (best memo, semis);
10 SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law 8 1 1 8 [SLCU Moot] (best memo, semis);
13 Nirma University 5 1 5 [Henry Dunant] (semis);
14 ILS Pune 5 1 5 [SLCU Moot] (silver);
14 NUALS Kochi 5 1 5 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (silver);
14 ULC Bangalore 5 1 5 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (best memo);
14 GNLU Gandhinagar 5 1 5 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (best speaker);
14 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune 5 1 5 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (best speaker);
14 NLU Orissa 5 1 5 [B.R Sawhney Moot] (Best Memorial) ;
20 Army Institute of Law, Mohali 3 1 3 [Surana Trial Adv - North] (semis);
20 Faculty of Law, IFHE Hyderabad 3 1 3 [SLCU Moot] (semis);
20 Campus Law Centre. Delhi 3 1 3 [B.R Sawhnhey Moot] (semis);
20 School of Law, Sastra University, Thanjavur 3 1 3 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (semis);
21 School of Law, Christ University, Bangalore 1 1 [SLCU Moot] (organiser);
21 Nalsar Hyderabad 1 1 [B.R Sawhney Moot] (organisers)

For more information please refer to the MPL 3 rulebook.

Click to show 22 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.