•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

HNLU Raipur loses Pro Bono Enviro moot to ULC Bangalore but sweeps rest, overtakes NUJS to 2nd

MPL 4: The home of Indian mooting
MPL 4: The home of Indian mooting

ULC Bangalore defeated HNLU Raipur at the sixth Pro Bono Enviro moot at Soel Chennai on Saturday, but Raipur swept away every other prize at the competition and displaced NUJS Kolkata in second place in the Herbert Smith Freehills-sponsored Mooting Premiere League (MPL) 4 standings.

ULC Bangalore’s tier 5 MPL win earned it a 10-rank boost to 12th place.

The loser HNLU Raipur, on the other hand, has been steadily inching upwards in the fourth MPL with its Nani Palkhivala and Rizvi moot earnings. This time the college won acclaim for great research gaining a grand total of 20 MPL points from this moot alone.

The HNLU team comprised of best speaker Prakhar Pandey, best researcher S Sreesh, and Harsha Nagaraj. Pandey said: “The [organising] college has a good mooting history, you look forward to their moot. So the preparation has to be good. And the law involved is not something which dates back to long ago, the law is not that developed.”

The winners from ULC Bangalore were Radha Raghavan, Rohan Jagadeesh and researcher Nayantara Raja.

Jagadeesh said: “It was my first national moot ever and it is an elating experience that people notice you everywhere [after]. It is such an amazing network.

“I think I was not very well-versed with court mannerisms, was very aggressive, and a very good mugger, because I’ve been doing a lot of parliamentary debates. But it [the team] was an amazing trio. We were three collective heads with different reasoning and different analogy but our thoughts never wavered.”

24 teams participated in the moot, and Sastra University’s School of Law Thanjavur and Nirma Institute of Law Ahmedabad both made it to the semi-finals.

ULC Bangalore has previously made a mark at this moot in 2009 and 2010 when the law school won the best memorial prize.

HNLU Raipur also conquered the north east rounds of the Surana & Surana trial advocacy moot, winning MPL points for best team, best student advocate and best speaker from the September 30 victory at NLUJAA Guwahati. NUJS Kolkata amassed runner-up points from the moot.

MPL Notes: Legally India has been gathering feedback from a number of top MPL law schools on the Amity International moot, which was also held this month. Owing to mixed feedback so far from teams, we are still considering its inclusion. Please do not spam supportive messages in the comments.
We are also confirming results for Raisoni.
Team MPL is considering dropping the regional Surana Trial rounds out of the MPL for the next season, as the increased fragmentation into two Northern rounds and a Southern round means total participation has decreased.

Upcoming moots: This weekend NLIU Juriscorp will be blogged live by the awesome NLIU media team.

International law firm Herbert Smith is sponsoring the Mooting Premier League (MPL) and will contribute a prize pool of Rs 60,000 for the top three winning colleges.

Mooting Premier League 4 season standings

Pos Law school T1 T2 T3 T4 T5 Org W R/u S/F B S B M/R HM Pts Details
1 NLSIU Bangalore 100       13   2     1 2   113 [Rizvi Moot] (Semis); [Surana Trial Adv - South] (gold); [Manfred Lachs Space Moot World Rounds] (gold, best memo, best orator)
2 HNLU Raipur       8 47 1 1 2   3 3   55 Nani Palkhivala (Best Researcher); [Pro Bono] (Best team, Best speaker, Best researcher, Best memorial)
3 NUJS Kolkata       8 40   2 2   3     48 [HMMCC (Best team)(Best speaker)] [Nani Palkhivala (runners up)][BR Sawhney (Best peaker)][SLCU Moot (Gold, Best speaker)]
4 Jindal Global Law School     15 8 10   1   1   2   33 [Nani Palkhivala] (Best Memorial)][Henry Dunant] (best researcher, semis); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (gold);
5 Faculty of Law, Jamia Milia Islamia University     10 8 10     1   1 1   28 [Nani Palkhivala (Best speaker)][Henry Dunant (Best memo)Surana Trial adv-North (Silver, bet speaker)]
6 [[NLU Delhi     20   3 1 1   1       23 [HMMCC (Semis)][Henry Dunant] (gold); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (organiser);
7 GNLU Gandhinagar       15 5   1     1     20 [Nani Palkhivala] (best team); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (Best team)
8 RMLNLU Lucknow         20   1       2   20 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (gold, best researcher); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (best memo);
9 GLC Mumbai     10 8   1       1     18 Henry Dunant (Best speaker)
10 NLU Jodhpur     10   6     1 2       16 [Henry Dunant] (silver); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (semis); [B.R Sawhney Moot] (semis) ;
11 Nalsar Hyderabad         15 1 1 1         15 [HMMCC (Runners up)] [Rizvi Moot] (Best team); [B.R Sawhney Moot] (organisers)
12 ULC Bangalore         15   1       1   15 [Pro bono enviro moot] (winners); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (best memo);
13 RGNUL Patiala       4 8     1 1       14 [Nani Palkhivala] (Semis); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (semis); B. R Sawhney Moot (runners up)
14 Amity Law School Noida         13       1 1 1   13 [Rizvi Moot] {Semis}[Best speaker}{Best memorial};
15 NLIU Bhopal       4 8       2   1   12 [HMMCC (Semis)(Best memorial)][Nani Palkhivala (semis)]
16 Department of Law, North-Eastern Hill University     10             1     10 [Henry Dunant] (best speaker);
17 ILS Pune         10     1     1   10 [HMMCC] (Best researcher); [SLCU Moot] (silver);
18 KIIT School of Law         10   1           10 [B.R Sawhney Moot] (Winners) ;
19 School of Legal Studies, CUSAT Kochi         8       1   1   8 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (best memo, semis);
20 SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law         8       1   1   8 [SLCU Moot] (best memo, semis);
21 Nirma University     5   3       2       8 [Henry Dunant] (semis);[Pro Bono] {semis}
22 School of Law, Sastra University, Thanjavur         6       2       6 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (semis); [Pro Bono] {Semis}
23 NUALS Kochi         5     1         5 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (silver); 
24 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune         5         1     5 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (best speaker);
25 NLU Orissa         5           1   5 [B.R Sawhney Moot] (Best Memorial) ;
26 Faculty of Law, Lucknow University         5           1   5  
27 Army Institute of Law, Mohali         3       1       3 [Surana Trial Adv - North] (semis);
28 Faculty of Law, IFHE Hyderabad         3       1       3 [SLCU Moot] (semis);
29 Campus Law Centre. Delhi         3       1       3 [B.R Sawhnhey Moot] (semis);
30 School of Law, Christ University, Bangalore           1             1 [SLCU Moot] (organiser);
31 Rizvi Law College         1 1             1 Rizvi Moot (organisers)
32 SOEL Chenna         1 1             1 Pro Bono (organisers)

For more information please refer to the MPL 3 rulebook.

Click to show 14 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.