•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

DSK makes (law firm cricket) history vs ELP in Mumbai Masters Cricket Cup 2015

The DSK winners
The DSK winners

DSK Legal won against Economic Laws Practice (ELP) in the finals of the seventh ELP Masters Cricket Cup between Mumbai law firms, held on Sunday 22 February at the Police Gymkhana Cricket Ground.

According to a press release from ELP, DSK is now the only firm, other than Wadia Ghandy, to have won the cup more than once:

Riding high on the swashbuckling performance of their batsmen Sharad Kurup, DSK Legal defeated the hosts, ELP, who put in a spirited performance. DSK scored 79 runs in its slotted 6 overs, with Sharad retiring at the score of 38 whereas ELP was able to reach 59 runs in its 6 overs.

[At the cup] 16 law firms leave aside their band and gowns, set aside the heated negotiations and move their focus to the competition on field... The sixteen teams participating were slotted into four groups, with the winner of each group fighting it out in the semi finals.

The first group saw great performances from AZB & Partners and Khaitan & Co who won two matches each. However, DSK Legal finally qualified on the basis of a better runs-per-wicket ratio. The second group saw Desai & Diwanji as the clear winners and the fourth group saw the hosts, ELP qualify for the semi finals. In the third group, Nishith Desai Associates caused a stir by defeating the three times champions Wadia Ghandy.

In the semi finals, in a closely fought encounter, DSK Legal won against Nishith Desai Associates and ELP coasted to victory against Desai & Diwanji.

Amidst all the competitiveness and fighting spirit showcased by the teams, there was a lot of camaraderie showed by all. True to the spirit of the tournament, one saw players (the young and younger ones!) and supporters from different law firms mingling and sharing a good time together.

The tournament saw the participation of senior partners such as Rabindra Jhunjhunwala from Khaitan & Co, Rajendra Barot from AZB & Partners, and Ashish Ahuja from Wadia Ghandy showing their skills on the ground; whereas Prem Rajani and Ravi Singhania from Rajani, Singhania & Partners fought it out from the stands…

The Man of the Match (Series) along with the Best Batsman award went to Sharad Kurup from DSK Legal; and the Best Bowler award went to Rishikesh Soni from DSK Legal. The tournament was directed by Mr. Sagar Divekar, Advocate.

ELP managing partner Rohan Shah said in the press release: “It is refreshing to see our peers battling each other on a cricket ground.”

No comments yet: share your views