•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

NLU Jodhpur wins Stetson North, climbs Mooting Premier League


A team from National Law University (NLU), Jodhpur has won the North India rounds of the Stetson Environmental Law Moot, beating Amity Law School IP University Delhi.

Both teams have now qualifed to the Florida Stetson University world finals in March 2010, together with the winners of Stetson South India - KLA, Thiruvanthapuram and New Law College, Bharti Vidyapeeth.

The winning NLU Jodhpur team comprised of Kartikeya Mahajan, Meha Rashmi, Aman Bhattacharya, Silpa Nair and Soumya Patnaik.

The victory and the award of best memorial to NLU Jodhpur, propels the school to fifth place in the mooting premier league table from joint twelfth.

Avni Bansal from Hidayatullah National Law University (HNLU) Raipur won the best orator prize, securing HNLU's entry at the bottom of the table.

The Stetson North India rounds were organized by NLIU Bhopal.

Co-convenor of the NLIU Bhopal moot court committee Tanuj Hazari said: "This was the second major moot other than the NLIU Tankha moots organized by NLIU in a span of one month."

As in Stetson's South India rounds, the moot problem for the competition concerned marine mammals and ocean noise.

The winners and runners-up of Stetson's North and South India rounds have qualified for the Stetson World Finals which will be held in Stetson University, Florida, USA between 11 and 14 March 2010.

2009-10 law school mooting league table

Law school Points Wins
1. NLSIU Bangalore 39
Manfred Lachs (best team, best orator); Stetson South (best advocate)
2. Nalsar Hyderabad 31 IICLAM (best memorial); Henry Dunant Indian rounds (runners-up); Surana Trial Advocacy (best team, best memorial)
2. NLIU Bhopal 31
All India Corporate Law Moot (runners-up, best orator); Nalsar B.R.Sawney (best team, best orator, best memorial); Stetson South (best memorial)
4. School of Excellence Chennai 23
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best team, best orator), NLIU Tankha (best orator)
5. NLU Jodhpur 20 Nalsar B.R.Sawney (runners-up); Stetson North (best team, best memorial)
6. Amity Law School IP University Delhi 18 IICLAM (best team & best orator); Stetson North (runner-up)
7. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law (RGNUL) Patiala
13 Henry Dunant national rounds (best researcher); NLIU Tankha (best team)
8. NUJS Kolkata 11
All India Corporate Law Moot (best team, best researcher)
9. Kerala Law Academy Thiruvananthapuram 10 Stetson South (best team)
10. UILS Punjab 8 Surana Trial advocacy (runners up, best orator)
11. CLC Delhi University 7
Henry Dunant Indian rounds (best memorial)
11. HNLU Raipur 7 Stetson North (best orator)
11. New Law College Bharati Vidyapeeth University Pune 7 Stetson South (runner-up)
14. ULC Bangalore 5 All India Corporate Law Moot (best memorial)
15. GNLU Gandhinagar 3 IICLAM (runners-up)

The next moot competition on the Mooting Premier League line-up is the 6th Nani Palkhiwala National Tax Moot Court Competition, which is organised by Government Law College, Mumbai from 3 to 5 December 2009.

We have also updated the league table with the confirmed best memorial win of University Law College, Bangalore in the NLU Delhi Corporate Law Moot Court Competition.

We are also confirming the results of Surana Trial Advocacy North rounds and will update the tables shortly.

Click here for a full list of the scoring criteria we are using. We will endeavour not to make any more changes or additions to this list unless there are very compelling reasons to do so.

Click to show 19 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.