•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

ILS Pune climbs to MPL 7th place after NLIU JC Moot, as IICLAM moot postponed indefinitely

MPL 4: The home of Indian mooting
MPL 4: The home of Indian mooting

ILS Pune fetched its first gold this season at the NLIU Juris Corp National Corporate Law Moot Court Competition and leapt up the Mooting Premier League (MPL) 4 ladder from 17th to seventh place. RGNUL Patiala was runner-up with a strong shoulder-to-shoulder performance that secured its second MPL silver.

NLU Delhi and NLU Jodhpur lost out in the semi-finals of the competition, which was blogged live by NLIU Bhopal on the last weekend of October.

Shailesh Singh of Nalsar Hyderabad won the best speaker award, while best researcher was bagged by Neetu Ahlawat of Symbiosis Pune, giving the college its first points in the fourth MPL, which is sponsored by Herbert Smith Freehills.

NLU Orissa won the best memorandum award.

The ILS winning team consisted of speakers Manaswi Agrawal, Malek Shipchandler and researcher Puneet Agrawal.

Agrawal was elated about the win and said that their victory was made possible by heavy preparation for 12 days. “The problem was really balanced such that we were confident in both the sides,” he said.

“Though the judges grilled us we were never silenced by unnecessary and irrelevant questions. All our opponent teams were well prepared and the toughest was to crack the semis where we had a healthy match with NLU, Jodhpur. The team bonding we had indeed furnished an extra boosting in each round.”

Agrawal also commended NLIU Bhopal’s hospitality.

NLIU Bhopal wins MPL organiser points for this Tier 4 moot as it did not compete.

At 36 teams, fewer teams participated than last time. The preliminary rounds of the moot were followed by four knock-out rounds – the octa-final, quarter-final, semi-final and the final round.

Note: The 5th IICLAM moot, a tier 4 moot in the MPL, did not happen last weekend as was originally scheduled. The moot's founding law firm Kaden Boriss has postponed the competition indefinitely, confirmed the India organiser NLU Delhi.

International law firm Herbert Smith is sponsoring the Mooting Premier League (MPL) and will contribute a prize pool of Rs 60,000 for the top three winning colleges.

Mooting Premier League 4 season standings

Pos Law school T1 T2 T3 T4 T5 Org W R/u S/F B S B M/R HM Pts Details
1 NLSIU Bangalore 100       13   2     1 2   113 [Rizvi Moot] (Semis); [Surana Trial Adv - South] (gold); [Manfred Lachs Space Moot World Rounds] (gold, best memo, best orator)
2 HNLU Raipur       8 47 1 1 2   3 3   55 Nani Palkhivala (Best Researcher); [Pro Bono] [Best team, Best speaker, Best researcher, Best memorial]
3 NUJS Kolkata       8 40   2 2   3     48 [HMMCC (Best team)(Best speaker)] [Nani Palkhivala (runners up)][BR Sawhney (Best peaker)][SLCU Moot (Gold, Best speaker)]
4 Jindal Global Law School     15 8 10   1   1   2   33 [Nani Palkhivala] (Best Memorial)][Henry Dunant] (best researcher, semis); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (gold);
5 Faculty of Law, Jamia Milia Islamia University     10 8 10     1   1 1   28 [Nani Palkhivala (Best speaker)][Henry Dunant (Best memo), [Surana Trial adv-North (Silver, best speaker)]
6 NLU Delhi     20 4 3 1 1   2       27 [HMMCC (Semis)][Henry Dunant] (gold); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (organiser); [NLIU Juris Corp] [Semis]
7 ILS Pune       15 10   1 1     1   25 [HMMCC] (Best researcher); [SLCU Moot] (silver); [NLIU Juris Corp] (gold)
8 Nalsar Hyderabad       8 15 1 1 1   1     23 [HMMCC (Runners up)] [Rizvi Moot] (Best team); [B.R Sawhney Moot] (organisers); [NLIU Juris Corp] [Best Speaker];
9 RGNUL Patiala       12 8     2 1       22 [Nani Palkhivala] (Semis); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (semis); B. R Sawhney Moot (runners up); [NLIU Juris Corp] [Runnerup] (silver);
10 GNLU Gandhinagar       15 5   1     1     20 [Nani Palkhivala] (best team); [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (Best team)
10 RMLNLU Lucknow         20   1       2   20 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (gold, best researcher); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (best memo);
10 NLU Jodhpur     10 4 6     1 3       20 [Henry Dunant] (silver); [Surana Trial Adv - North] (semis); [B.R Sawhney Moot] (semis) ; [NLIU Juris Corp] [Semis];
13 GLC Mumbai     10 8   1       1     18 Henry Dunant (Best speaker)
14 ULC Bangalore         15   1       1   15 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (best memo);
15 NLIU Bhopal       6 8 1     2   1   14 HMMCC (Semis)(Best memorial); Nani Palkhivala (semis); NLIU Juris Corp (Organiser)
16 Amity Law School Noida         13       1 1 1   13 [Rizvi Moot] (Semis, best speaker, best memorial)
16 NLU Orissa       8 5           2   13 [B.R Sawhney Moot] (Best Memorial) ; [NLIU Juris Corp] [Best Memorial];
18 Department of Law, North-Eastern Hill University     10             1     10 [Henry Dunant] (best speaker);
18 KIIT School of Law         10   1           10 [B.R Sawhney Moot] (Winners)
20 School of Legal Studies, CUSAT Kochi         8       1   1   8 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (best memo, semis)
20 SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law         8       1   1   8 [SLCU Moot] (best memo, semis);
20 Nirma University     5   3       2       8 [Henry Dunant] (semis); [Pro Bono] [Semis];
20 Symbiosis, Pune       8             1   8 [NLIU Juris Corp] [Best Researcher]
24 School of Law, Sastra University, Thanjavur         6       2       6 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (semis); [Pro Bono] [Semis]
25 NUALS Kochi         5     1         5 [NLU Delhi Corp Moot] (silver);
25 New Law College, Bharti Vidayapeeth University, Pune         5         1     5 [Surana Trial Adv - South] (best speaker);
27 Army Institute of Law, Mohali         3       1       3 [Surana Trial Adv - North] (semis);
27 Faculty of Law, IFHE Hyderabad         3       1       3 [SLCU Moot] (semis);
27 Campus Law Centre. Delhi         3       1       3 [B.R Sawhnhey Moot] (semis);
30 School of Law, Christ University, Bangalore           1             1 [SLCU Moot] (organiser);
30 Rizvi Law College         1 1             1 Rizvi Moot (organisers)
30 SOEL Chennai         1 1             1 Pro Bono (organisers)

For more information please refer to the MPL 3 rulebook.

Click to show 12 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.