•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences

Hammurabi, SS Rana, Karanjawala win SILF cricket tournament cup, plate & bowl

Bowled over
Bowled over

Hammurabi Solomon, SS Rana and Karanjawala & Co won in each of the three finals of the Westlaw-Society of Indian Law Firms (SILF) Cricket League on Saturday at Delhi’s Hamdard University, coming out on top of 20 other law firm teams to take home trophies.

In the cup league finals, in which the top teams emerging from the pool stages contested, Hammurabi Solomon won against Titus & Co after winning the toss and batting to a 144/7 score in 20 overs. Titus was bowled out at 109 runs in 18.3 overs.

Hammurabi’s Jitendra Kumar won the man of the match and man of the tournament award award for his 80 runs in 49 balls, also taking one wicket. The performance also granted him the “max sixes” award, while Rajnish from Hammurabi bagged the award for max wickets in a final match; Rajkamal from Titus won the best fielder of the match; and best bowler of cup league was given to Aditya Kumar.

In the plate league, which are the knock-out rounds for teams that didn't make it to the cup, SS Rana won against Khaitan Sud & Partners with 71 runs in 5.5 overs, winning by 9 wickets against Khaitan’s 70 runs in 19.3 overs. SS Rana’s Daman Ahuja was man of the match, while Mohsin Khan picked up the best bowler prize.

Khaitan Sud partner Tanuj Sud won the man of the tournament award.

Karanjawala won in the finals for the bowl against S&R, which is the third set of knock-out rounds, scoring 100 runs over 15.2 overs with 9 wickets, while S&R was bowled all out at 96 runs in 19.3 overs.

Samarjit Patnaik was man of the match for best bowling taking 4 wickets in 3.3 overs, giving up only 12 runs.

Correction: An earlier version of the story erroneously reported that the bowl was the top prize, when in fact it's the cup. The error is regretted and has been corrected.

Cup Winners Hammurabi
Cup Winners Hammurabi

S&R #winning (apparently, though lost out to Karanjawala)
S&R #winning (apparently, though lost out to Karanjawala)

Click to show 42 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.