•  •  Dark Mode

Your Interests & Preferences

I am a...

law firm lawyer
in-house company lawyer
litigation lawyer
law student
aspiring student

Website Look & Feel

 •  •  Dark Mode
Blog Layout

Save preferences
This article, like many others, was first published exclusively for long-term supporters, some time before everyone else got to read it.

Analysis: Luthra promotes 57 • Shares full breakdown of senior and principal associate promotions on Facebook

Luthra & Luthra has come out as possibly the first big Indian law firm to publicly announce the names of its new “partners” (senior non-equity partners), “partner designates” (more junior salaried partners), managing associates and senior associates on Facebook (57 names, all in all).

The partner and other promotions are divided on its Facebook page according to corporate and litigation.

Luthra is, at heart, three separate firms – one transactional law partnership, the other for contentious and litigation work, and a third for tax work. Managing partner Rajiv Luthra and senior partner Mohit Saraf are the only equity partners across all three of those firms.

Saraf and Luthra are essentially the only true equity holders in the corporate firm (though a few other long-time Luthra partners are believed to hold slivers of an equity-like substance).

In the litigation firm, which includes some all disputes work, tax, regulatory and competition law, there are only three equity partners HS (Bobby) Chandhok, Vijay Sondhi and Sudhir Sharma (alongside Saraf and Luthra).

Litigation firm sees only junior salaried partner promotions

The break-down reveals that all of the six new senior non-equity partners were promoted in the corporate practice, while none were promoted to the same “partner” position in litigation.

However, eight were elevated to “partner designate” in litigation, which was a designation started several years ago at Luthra. 

The corporate practice also saw one promoted to “partner designate” level.

Associate promotions: More likely in litigation firm

However, the litigation practice out-promoted corporate in its managing associate and senior associate designations.

At nine managing associate promotions, litigation saw two more new managing associates than the corporate firm.

In senior associate terms, litigation promoted 15 - three more than in corporate.

Social media

The names of the new partners and designate partners were first reported on Bar & Bench on Saturday evening, followed by us, citing Bar & Bench’s report, a little while later.

On 18 July (Monday), at 2:27pm, a status update posted to Luthra’s public Facebook page, dated 16 July 2016 (Saturday).

It read:

A subtly lit splendid hall welcomed the Luthra & Luthra family to witness the grandeur of its "Silver Jubilee" celebrations. Commemorating the completion of ‘25 glorious years’ of the Firm’s remarkable journey, celebrations began with the announcements of the following promotions:

Partner (Corporate):
1. Aditya Periwal
2. Karan Mitroo
3. Mriga Solanki
4. Rohit Raghavan
5. Saurabh Tiwari
6. Vaibhav Suri

Partner Designate (Corporate):
1. Shikhar Kacker

Partner Designate (Litigation):
2. Abhishek Swaroop
3. Geetika Panwar
4. Kanika Chaudhary Nayar
5. Mumtaz Bhalla
6. Shiv Sapra
7. Saleem Hasan Ansari
8. Wasim Beg

Managing Associate (Corporate) :
1. Abhiroop Lahiri
2. Hina Doon
3. Neha Gulati Grover
4. Prateek Rastogi
5. Subhash Bhutoria
6. Vinay Kesari
7. Vivek K Agarwal

Managing Associate (Litigation) :
1. Apoorve Vashistha
2. Anupam Kishore Sinha
3. Abhishek Emmanuel Kisku
4. Ashish Chandra
5. Cauveri Birbal
6. Faisal Sherwani
7. Kapil Madan
8. Nidhi Singh
9. Parul Kumar

Senior Associate (Corporate) :
1. Akanksha Singh
2. Ankita Kansil
3. Astha Singh
4. Avisha Gupta
5. Avinash Subramanian
6. Gagan Ahuja
7. Himanshu Luthra
8. Naren BS
9. Satadru Goswami
10. Simrat Kaur
11. Sumithra Suresh
12. Varsha Bhattacharya

Senior Associate (Litigation) :
1. Aayushi Agarwal
2. Aayush Malhotra
3. Abhishek Shivpuri
4. Abhinav Rastogi
5. Aditya Vikram
6. Astha
7. Ashish Kumar Singh
8. Arjun Shawney
9. Ginni Sehgal
10. Nimanniyu Sharma
11. Neelu Mohan
12. Nayamat Sistani
13. Prateek Mishra
14. Soham Kumar
15. Sukriti Mago

The above news (and some related musings) were first published in our premium subscriber newsletter. Please sign up below to support us and get our personalised insight into the legal market every week.

Click to show 12 comments
at your own risk
By reading the comments you agree that they are the (often anonymous) personal views and opinions of readers, which may be biased and unreliable, and for which Legally India therefore has no liability. If you believe a comment is inappropriate, please click 'Report to LI' below the comment and we will review it as soon as practicable.