Read 5 comments as:
Filter By
I am currently a T-1 law school student who has interned quite extensively. everywhere that I go, my fellow interns just rave about getting a job at a T-1 law firm. It's getting to the point where I feel that we are aiming for very little despite working really hard in law school for 5 straight years.

In the grand scheme of things, Indian t-1 firms are not even in the top 100 law firms of the world and practically nobody outside of law knows about these organisations. I am not trying to be disrespectful, I am aware of the kind of work it takes to build such firms but why are students not aiming for the likes of Kirkland, Weil, Skadden, Linklaters etc? I am aware that in the longer term India is better when it comes to pay but it's another ballgame when you say that you are a corporate lawyer in London. Do people not understand the prestige it carries? Am I thinking too much or is everybody else crazy? I mean, let's face it, nobody would pick a Tier 1 indian firm over Kirkland or Clifford chance if given the choice.
Maybe because Indian T1 law schools does not make it to the top 150 law schools in the World and making it into top firms is very difficult!
You are not thinking too much. The collective intellect of NLUs combined have gone down. Nowadays getting a tier-1 job is an achievement because well it caters to short term pleasure and to be honest getting jobs at magic circle law firms requires one to be determined and in most cases a batch topper.