Read 39 comments as:
Filter By
I am a student at a well-known law school. In my last trimester, I observed that senior students possess PDFs of numerous law books. I find this concerning from an ethical and legal standpoint. As future lawyers, shouldn't we uphold the principles of respecting intellectual property and refrain from piracy? I am contemplating writing to major publishers to bring attention to this issue. Would this be a prudent course of action?
Read the DU copyright case first, along with basic principles of IP including the fair use exception.
It seems you must read the case. IP fair use principles clearly state that reproduction of content for educational use is allowed only if it is reasonable. Read section 52 (1) (h) of the Copyright Act which states, β€œthe publication in a collection, mainly composed of non-copyright matter, bona fide intended for instructional use, and so described in the title and in any advertisement issued by or on behalf of the publisher, of short passages from published literary or dramatic works, not themselves published for such use in which copyright subsists.”

We can clearly see that only short passages of copyrighted material are permitted to be reproduced. How are entire PDFs of books short passages?

PS: I have written to over 5 publishers till now, and one has assured me that they will take action against infringement. One of the Gmail accounts operating a drive on which illegal material was stored has already been blocked.
Good for you. Well on your way to becoming a pariah in your law school already. The academic publishers already make a huge profit, especially considering that they barely pay any real royalty to the authors, no money to the reviewers and little money to the editors. You're not fighting for justice here, quite to the contrary.