Read 14 comments as:
Filter By
I have an innovative, unique and one of its kind Ad campaign idea. No one in the history of Advertising has attempted something like this. I want to present it to some agencies. My primary concern is to ensure that no one copies my idea and how to register it or have a foolproof legal protection to it.
The issue isn’t the law but enforcement. If someone copies whatever you have, it’s a huge hassle and expensive to sue. Also, barring a few judges in elite High Courts most are clueless about IP law. You’d have better luck hiring a few local goondas and telling them to beat up whoever steals your ideas.
I can discuss this with you, I am an IP Attorney and can schedule a meet in the office, hopefully can get you a deserving protection
Hey. I have advised on something like this before. Ideas are not copyrightable, their expression is. It will be copyright infringement if they copy something that you made, including any copyrighted (doesnt have to be registered) images, artwork, visuals, script etc that you provided. However, usually pitches only have ideas and roadmaps on how something will be done, including costing, casting etc. Doing it in the same manner will not necessarily amount to copyright infringement. Advertising industry works on trust and an omerta, and also advertising agencies also assume a certain element of risk while giving pitches.
Prior to sharing, enter a NDA. As of now, prepare a detailed concept note and file a copyright application for it.
Ideas are not protected by copyright, only expressions are. Unless an impugned campaign is practically a copy (word for word), it is unlikely it'll be protected. This happens all the time with movie scripts.