Read 43 comments as:
Filter By
Hello Everyone,

I am a student of a Tier 3 NLU, planning for academia. What are the prospects in teaching, if I do my LLM from a Non - NLU or State university? or how much it matters? Will UGC NET, with a good CGPA in Graduation and PG suffice? What should be my approach for it.
Please guide me, it's much needed.
Anything below a PhD is gonna be difficult in the future. It was in 2018/19 whe UGC made it mandatory for assistant professors to have a PhD. However that was withheld after protests. However, in the future, a PhD will definitely be mandatory. Moreover, a JRF is best, since it provides with a fellowship as well as gives weightage to your CV in interviews. If you can, aim for a central university for an LLM, especially since they provide a 2 year LLM. One year LLMs are not worth it. Also, a two year LLM will help you get into IIM or IIT for a PhD, since they don't take one year LLMs. Any more queries do reply.
Decent advice. Central University>IIT/IIM>NLU>state university>private
Nobody cares about Central universities offering law. They are either nepo places without any substance like NFSU, RRU etc. or has beens like BHU, DU etc when it comes to law.
2 year LLMs currently offered in the country are relics. Nobody cares what LLM you have so long as it's valid. Rather focus on learning and quality of your dissertation.
When push comes to shove, one year LLMs would be stopped not two years.
Don't know about the downvotes, but this is the best advice. Aiming for traditional things; JRF, PhD & 2 year LLM, will make things way easier for you. The competition is high. Just appeared for a assistant professor interview; for 2 posts, we had around 80 candidates.
No good law university prefers two year LLM students over one year LLM students in this country for jobs.