Read 21 comments as:
Filter By
As a capital markets lawyer, I always wonder that while SEBI scrutinises offer documents extremely strictly, they never promote retail investors to actually read these documents. I can guarantee that not even 3-4% of retail investors read the DRHP/RHP before investing in IPOs. A lot of them don’t even know these documents exist, the markets in this country are running on vibes and people are buying any shit that you place in front of them. This is not how sophisticated markets run.

Sometimes I wonder while we are killing ourselves to find back-ups for every single line in that offer document, in the larger scheme of things it hardly matters because the retail guy will bid for it anyway because some youtuber or “financial influencer” said so. What’s the point of so much scrutiny then? I understand this might seem like a rant, but I genuinely don’t understand that markets anymore. IPOs have become the new F&O. Great for incompetent “new-age” promoters to dump their badly run businesses on unwitting fools, who for now are making money but eventually someone will be left holding a bag full of shit.
Retail investors are not that stupid. Most of them check GMP and subscription rate before investing. And a lot of them are there just for the listing gains.
This has to be worst take. GMP is not a good indicator of good/bad company. It’s easily manipulated since its literally in grey market. I believe the OP never dismissed the listing gains, their main point seems to be is that despite gains eventually market with correct itself and bad companies even though giving great returns rn, will go bust.
Unrelated but can come someone explain what finding a backup mean??