Read 13 comments as:
Filter By
I am currently in my 4th year of law school at NLUJ. So far I have 3 GenCorp internships (JSA Mum, Khaitan Blr, JSA Mum callback) but GenCorp work hasn't yet excited me yet and I'm thinking of switching to another area. I have several years of trading experience (mostly losses though) before I gave it up due to limited capital and ability to take losses. Now I'm headed to corporate law for the stability... but if I have to grind and toil for the next few years, I'd love to do so somewhere where I can get exposure to financial markets the art of fundraising - in a manner that might help my trading and/or perhaps pick up the skills and network required to get funding for a venture of my own someday.

I would be very grateful for some insight into how CapMarks, PE&VC and/or any other practice areas might be helpful in pursuing this. I understand the grind, and monotony, and clerical nature of work at lower levels etc., so looking for something more insightful than 'bro you won't have time, your mind will become mush, etc' - assume that's an externality I'll have to manage anyway.
no area of law will give you skills which will make you a better trader. But PE/VC might help you in the 2nd ascpect of your question i.e. learning fund raising. However, this will only make you aware about the process, and might potentially help you build some contacts, and youll be better able to negotiate your own deal (one day) in front of VCs if you thorughly understand the provisions. At the same time, this field will not expose you to the business aspect of how to actually run the venture; youll have to learn this elsewhere or transition from law for a few years before launching your venture

Core finance and law has almost zero overlap.