Read 13 comments as:
Filter By
I am a 2023 graduate who joined the B&F practice of a Tier-2 firm in Mumbai last year and had the best team I could ask for. I was placed through a PPO at the firm, and shared an excellent rapport with the team and partner. However, I was not inclined to work in this area, and wanted to make an early switch to another practice area of my interest (TMT). I approached the partner and spoke to her about it - she tried to reason with me at first, said I'd performed very well in my time there and to rethink my decision to leave - even offered me a break to take some time off and rethink. I did not want to take a break and keep them waiting as it'd be unfair for them to have someone not very interested in that particular practice area, so I decided to leave and look for other jobs. I could have left after having another job in hand - there were multiple reasons I did not do that. One, my mental health was in shambles, I know it's rare but although I absolutely loved the partner and my team, i absolutely disliked the practice area. Secondly, I have multiple TMT internships and a few moot achievements and I was confident to find a decent job after leaving. Due to a lack of direction and I'd say being desperate for a job in my final year, I thought I'd give a shot at this job, and took it up. The partner at my previous firm was so kind, she even offered to speak with her contacts in other firms on my behalf, if I needed her help. She went on to say that if I were to change my mind, I could return to the firm and I'd be welcome back. Now that I've quit, I want suggestions on what to do next...what is the ideal way of applying to firms as someone with 6 months pqe (so a fresher) in a different practice area...the only good thing is I shared an excellent rapport with my previous team, so I've no bad records. My academic credentials are also decent (graduated top 10% of the batch). I took some time off and worked on my mental health, had saved up e