Read 12 comments as:
Filter By
I am a second year student, and I wanted to reach out NALSAR alum who have tried and succeeded in NALSAR. Any advice as to ranks, CGPA, moots and publications would be helpful?
I say this as someone who got the maximum number of offers from their batch & built a reputation in mooting & publications:

1. Make & collate as many notes as possible. Whether you do the readings or not, having collected good notes beforehand and having glanced over them just once before your classes will make you grasp far more things and give clarity from an exam perspective.

2. Complete your projects at least a week before the deadlines and send them to seniors for review β€” at least till you get a good grasp at academic writing. These seniors can also help you choose credits better suited for marks.

3. Interact with the professors, however useless this may initially seem to you. Keep them in the loop for your projectwork, and don't shy away from asking questions in the class because of your Yo-Gang equivalents.

4. Always prioritise your grades over moots or publications β€” you'll see the power of the Nalsar tag when firms approach your Internship Coordination Committee directly, but in most scenarios, only the people with high ranks would be preferred. You may get a decent (T2) internship by the end of your 4th year if you're not in the top 50% of your batch, but beyond that, it's unlikely for people with lower ranks to get picked by HRs who give far more value to the grades than the CVs. If you don't get good internships, your moots & publications don't really help anyway, but alternatively, even if you have bare minimal skills and a good rank, you'll likely get a couple of offers on the Day Z etc.

4. If you're planning a publication, go for a reputed name and put efforts into it. Random student-run blogs that came up recently won't demonstrate any academic prowess that you're intending to show off in your CV.