Read 5 comments as:
Filter By
I am a fifth year law student. I was recently offered a full time position at a tier 1 law firm in the investment funds practice. I have heard a lot of negative chatter about the practice area from my law school seniors, and peers. I find it interesting, but do want flexibility in my career - both location and ability to switch to in house roles.

(1) What is the growth potential of this practice in India in the next 10 years? (2) Do you expect the practice to expand out of Mumbai (to Delhi or Bangalore)? (3) How easy is it to switch from investment funds to M&A/GC/PE&VC roles? (4) Do PE firms look to hire in-house lawyers with only investment funds experience?

Would appreciate honest answers! :)
There is immense growth in funds but not in the sense you want. Very unlikely that it'll grow out of Mumbai.

If you're choosing funds, then absolutely forget flexibility, there is very less flexibility in choosing firms only; forget in house and location.

Switching is hard because the area is completely completely different. Switching from PE to funds would be a better idea than vice versa.

Getting hired by PE firms is a complete hit or miss you can't rely on it.

I would strongly suggest you that if you're not from Mumbai or want to eventually shift out of Mumbai, start off by PEVC instead of investment funds. Starting by funds you'll be limited to 3-4 good firms at Max, there is absolutely no flexibility remember this.
There is immense growth in funds but not in the sense you want. Very unlikely that it'll grow out of Mumbai.

If you're choosing funds, then absolutely forget flexibility, there is very less flexibility in choosing firms only; forget in house and location.

Switching is hard because the area is completely completely different. Switching from PE to funds would be a better idea than vice versa.

Getting hired by PE firms is a complete hit or miss you can't rely on it.