Read 39 comments as:
Filter By
Hi everyone, I was a student of NUJS online courses, and has been waiting for certificate as I have finished my course. one and half years back Division Bench of Calcutta HC ordered that we must be given certificates and our course will be deemed to be UGC recognised. Since then NUJS took out notice saying they will implement the court order and asked us to submit details to the University which I did.

After this there was a challenge in Supreme Court (filed very late by UGC - 9 months after the divison bench order) and NUJS said it will wait for SC order before giving certificates.

Now SC has dismissed the SLP by UGC, and upheld HC order.

Why is NUJS still not issuing a certificate to me? I wrote mails to the VC and the registrar, there was no response.

I have filed a contempt petition before Calcutta HC, but the hearing did not happen since 5 months as the bench has been separated and one of the judges is now posted in Andaman & Nicobar Islands.

Do I have to wait till the judge returns to Kolkata for contempt petition to be heard before I can get my certificate?

or can I file a fresh writ before HC?

Why is NUJS doing this travesty of justice. There are clear court orders, why can't a premier law university follow the law? Why do we have to fight to get our rights in courts @ every step?

Have we not suffered enough?
What I gather from this whole fiasco is that โ–ฎโ–ฎโ–ฎ โ–ฎโ–ฎโ–ฎ (they were literally misleading students by marketing their courses as "UGC Recognised"). NUJS shut them down. The students who fell victim to this should not have to face the brunt. So the court said NUJS must at least give certificates to the students.

In none of the court orders is there any line about the legitimacy of the courses themselves. But iPleaders is portraying it as some sort of their own victory. When in reality it is just a relief awarded to the students โ–ฎโ–ฎโ–ฎ.