Read 35 comments as:
Filter By
Hi, I am a litigating lawyer and making this thread for and on behalf of students (and graduates) from Non-NLU Local Colleges , Native of T-3/4/5 Cities.

I want to let readers of LI and extended legal fraternity know that our situation is very hopeless and helpless.

Most of us did not get to know about corporate law firms until it was very too late. Due to severe FOMO we start to litigate and dont get a decent shot at law firms. Many of my friends still dont know names of corporate law firms and different practise areas. Like they say, It takes a whole village to raise a child. In other words, a child is sum total of his circumstances and surrondings.

Unlike branded colleges and NLUs , our CVs dont look so shiny with internships and publications.

Most of us join litigation with hope of making it big one day, but you all know the success ratio and the pay in Seniors Chamber. Though we are from far flung areas but cost of living is not much lesser in our city as far as lower middle/middle class standard is considered. Just that some of us have decent home to call our own and we dont have to spend so much on Metro. That definitely gets saved.

Some students try their luck in Judicial services and ADPO/APP exams but again that is a game of chance (at least prelims).

I am writing this thread to get constructive opinion of Top Industry Professionals (Partners, HRs,MPs) to get their opinion on our class of people.

[1] Do we have hope ?

[2] Should we stick in law or change careers ?
Partner here..

I now find the hype around NLUs have made the freshers quite difficult to work with. Although some of them do come with the advantages of better education, their bad attitude is not worth it. I would much rather recruit from non-NLUs, local Unis because most of law can be taught to A0s. You just need diligence, and in the beginning, have to be willing to make it your entire life.