Read 15 comments as:
Filter By
I am currently a T-1 law school student who has interned quite extensively. everywhere that I go, my fellow interns just rave about getting a job at a T-1 law firm. It's getting to the point where I feel that we are aiming for very little despite working really hard in law school for 5 straight years.

In the grand scheme of things, Indian t-1 firms are not even in the top 100 law firms of the world and practically nobody outside of law knows about these organisations. I am not trying to be disrespectful, I am aware of the kind of work it takes to build such firms but why are students not aiming for the likes of Kirkland, Weil, Skadden, Linklaters etc? I am aware that in the longer term India is better when it comes to pay but it's another ballgame when you say that you are a corporate lawyer in London. Do people not understand the prestige it carries? Am I thinking too much or is everybody else crazy? I mean, let's face it, nobody would pick a Tier 1 indian firm over Kirkland or Clifford chance if given the choice.
Dude gets ur facts right

Firstly Kirkland, Weil, skadden, cravath and the likes are US BIGLAW firms which do not hire juniors out of Law school. Only linklaters, hsf, cc and a0 have been. These firms are tier 2 in respect of pay in London. Mostly in 110 to 125 range compared to the 150 to 175 range of the former.

Second, after the new system of qualifying two exams before beggining the tc, u have to wait too many years to begin ur career and also spend ur own money.

It's much easier and safer to work in t1s in india and then lateral in 4 5 years to Kirkland or the likes
Nujs people got into freshies bakers and cc recently . These firms dont have any specific india program. And if you’re saying that the MC firms arw below the US firms, then you don’t understand the legal business