Read 9 comments as:
Filter By
Hi,

In this thread I will pour out my thoughts (opinions) and experience (facts) of legal profession in General.

I am a 2020 grad from Tier -4/5 law school from a far flung no name Law school in a state. After my graduation, I immediately joined litigation. Needless to say, since our college was not so big, our only focus was Bank PO, SSC and other govt competitive exams. Me and my batch mates had no other plans. I tried a few exams then rested my pen. I joined litigation in 2021 under a senior lawyer in District court.

To my shock, juniors were not paid anything ANYWHERE in India regardless the forum, the senior advocates income and size of chamber. I continued to litigate as I had no other option. Meanwhile I came across few people from better Universities and they told me about Corporate Law Firms and how since I dont have any internships and because I am not from an NLU so I dont stand a chance at getting into them. Made me sad. I still message and reply to people working in law firm in hope of getting some guidance and break. But, I have dropped the hope.

Another issue with legal profession as also highlighted by CJI Sir recently is crazy work hours, be it inhouse, law firm or in litigation , litigation is the most toxic profession with crazy work hours. It really messes up family life. It sucks the soul out of your body and you really start to question your value as an individual and your reason to live. In other words, you hit existential crisis which often leads to undiagnosed high functioning depression.

Due to crazy work hours,
Hi! I am a fellow grad from a far flung university who made it into a corporate law firm. Switching careers is hard in the corporate world. If you are litigating, a close enough transition would probably be into law firms with a lit team (within the specific niche you are practicing in).