Read 6 comments as:
Filter By
I'm an A1 at a T1 Disputes Team. I really love reading books. However, as a busy professional, I'm finding it challenging to find time and diversify my reading habit across various genres. To everyone over here, who also love to read, I would appreciate any advice or insights on how you manage to make time for reading amidst demanding full-time jobs. Thank you!
Honestly, I love reading books too, but I did not read or paint for more than a year due to work. It made me very frustrated. Now I have started reading at least 30-50 pages daily. The most suitable time for me is early in the morning when I am having my coffee or when I'm in bed. I make it a point to read something before sleeping. It can be even two pages or one paragraph. But read.
The problem with law associates nowadays is that they will love to listen to ap Dhillon rather than reading about Oppenheimer. The ‘Munda’ culture and folks going gaga over basic looks has taken over like cancer!
I set aside a specific hour every day for reading, just like sleep. I switch my phone off during that period. So far, it has worked in the last five years while working in a firm.
Hey A1.

Just so you know - what you are feeling is valid and lot of us have gone through this. Just to add more context and give you a more proper answer:

First year at a T1 is extremely chaotic. Because you’re suddenly thrown into this fast paced culture which is very different from college. Also, since you’re learning different processes - not just law, but things which aren’t written anywhere (internal law firm workflow/ how courts work/ which senior has what style of working - what he/ she likes dislikes), this just takes up a lot of your time.

Since this isn’t exactly billable work or work in the traditional sense where you are completing a project, you may not realise it, but this is also a groundwork which you need to put in to get a foothold.