Read 9 comments as:
Filter By
Hi I am a student from NUSRL Ranchi. I will not mention the batch for specific reasons. I tried to post this yesterday but for some unknown reason the moderator decided not to talk about it. I am from a very recent but not the latest batch of nusrl. And it’s safe to say that the mooting plus debating committee selection in our batch is plagued with favouritism with half of the people being chosen twice or thrice and majority of times it’s them choosing themselves! I don’t intend to be a crybaby and I don’t want to badmouth my college. Sure Nusrl’s state of affairs is not impressive at all but there is always a scope of improvement. However I feel that deserving people who don’t oil the seniors much often get sidelined into oblivion. This is a trend that’s problematic.

Now my sole question is that does this happen at other tier-3 nlus as well? Here even the MCC employs only seniors to judge so the biasedness is even more pronounced. Or is this something to be called out within the batch itself for improvement? Kindly comment below.

I hope this question bypasses moderation.
Welcome to the legal profession, mate. The whole profession is like that buddy.

First off, YES. BIG YES. Tier 3 NLU student here.

Tomorrow whether you work in a law firm or in a litigation office or in a university as a professor, or even courts, you'll have to be in the good books of superiors. This profession is known for nepotism, favouritism, be it law firms, litigation offices or "let me not mention it to not contempt it". You WILL HAVE TO oil up hierarchically superiors. If not oil up, at least try being super friendly and being on their good books Take it as an advice for life for this profession.