Read 13 comments as:
Filter By
I'm a law student who seems to never get things in the right place. I've studied day in and out only to get an above average rank in my class. While more than half my batchmates are getting great internships by contacts and someone close to them in senior positions in the firm, I'm left applying to 10-15 of them and following up continuously for months with no reply. And it's not that I've tried. Just that I've not been given any chance to excel, and I truly believe I can do so. I've had wonderful tier 3 firm internship experiences, where I have excelled . Ive tried making connections, but always end up contacting the wrong people who never help. I've participated in really big moots, but almost lose in the semi/ quarter finals, or one of my team members ditch me etc. Everyone around me at least work hard in something and actually achieve an opportunity, but Im the ONLY one left out putting in 200 percent of my work and ending up with nothing.
Yeah, most tier 1 and 2 firms these days only hire or offer internships if you have contacts, direct application do not work at all, and RCC only shortlists for top 10 Ranks, that too in Tier 1 NLUs.
This is untrue, can attest from personal experience. Put an effort into your cover letter and send cold emails. It just needs to work once. It did for me and changed my life.
send cold emails to whom? Ive sent so many to partners in all firms but there is absolutely no response.

Cover letter? Dude I worked super hard on it, Ive even gotten good grades but not top 10, good publications, internships previously, one national moot, but nothing.

Someone asked this above, but Im from NALSAR