Read 9 comments as:
Filter By
Hi!

I'm a final year student from an NLU, with an offer from Trilegal which I secured through the Day 0 drive conducted on campus. It is with the General Corporate law team, and I have not explored this practice area a lot in my internships.

What can I do to prepare for my job which starts in July 2023?
I've been working for all of three months, so my perspective is limited. It's good that you want to prepare in advance, that is very important. But at the same time, don't forget to enjoy your college life. This one year is when you're truly free to do what you want, recreational stuff and constructive-but-doesn't-boost-employability stuff.

To answer your question, you could start by watching the Corp law lecture series on YouTube by Jindal. It gives a very good overview of MnA. GC teams work on anything and everything related to companies, but the work can broadly be categorised into advisory and transactional.

Get into the habit of reading a business/financial newspaper, or at the very least, the business page of a general newspaper. Develop commercial awareness. This is what most lawyers lack, imo. They know the law, but ultimately, our job is to facilitate the business.

One legislation that gives GC lawyers a lot of grief is FEMA and associated rules If you're familiar with them, it'll go a long way in helping you. Start with the FDI Policy and NDI, then ODI, then, if you still have time, Debt.

You can also look at the deal updates from your team to see what kind of work they primarily do and do some focused prep for that.

Good luck!
I am old now. Having graduated in 2011 from a NLU. I will give you the practical advise needed-which you need not necessarily start learning in the final year-but can act as your survival guide. Rather mistakes that you can learn from:

1. Identify the power circles in your team. Make sure you latch onto one such centre. This will protect you and take you a long way.