Read 13 comments as:
Filter By
My main goal in life is to get into some or other government service, preferably UPSC. I am currently in my second year of law at NLS, and totally disenchanted with law as a career. In addition to that, I believe that NLS gives a lot less exposure than the elite DU colleges. And not only the college, even living in a city like Delhi has a lot of advantages. I am thinking of writing CUET and dropping out from NLS. Would that be a good idea? Or am I missing something? A mature advice would be welcome. Thank you!
This is the most moronic question I have seen here in a long time. How did you even manage to get in NLS? considering you're so delusional. Don't drop out, I repeat don't drop out. Understand this, B.A LL.B is a professional course and is way more valuable in the longer run. Secondly, government exams are extremely competitive and realistically your odds of making through are not high. Complete your graduation from here and then if necessary take a drop year to prepare for your desired government exam. Even if you don't crack UPSC you can still go back to a career in law. Worse possible scenario you'll have to teach in a coaching institute. The name tag of NLS will guarantee you a job in the legal market in some form or other. On the other hand if you get a degree from DU, you won't get that benifit. In DU you will be doing a non professional course and if you don't crack your desired government exam then you will be on the streets. I took two drop years to get into a T1 NLU and my friends on the other hand joined DU after their 12th. Now most of them are either doing a M.A or are already in the vicious circle of preparing for competitive exams. In simpler words their career is a mess and now they are cribbing about how there are no jobs in the market for them. I can guarantee you most of them will end up as school teachers, few of them will be Asst. Professors which again pays nothing and only one or two of them will crack UPSC.