Read 15 comments as:
Filter By
I am from a TI NLU and my grades are pretty bad. If I want to get hired or get decent internships how should I compensate for my lack of grades? will publishing in reputed national journals/blogs help or do I need to focus more on moots?
I am in my 2nd year so I still have time to improve my CV. Please, help me out and also mention what do firms want while hiring.
Prepare for CAT/GMAT and do a MBA, doesn't matter where. If you are not in the reserved category and if IIM is beyond your reach, there are many private B schools.
Hi, I had bad grades as well. Grades don't matter as much as a good understanding of first principles and a willingness to put your head down and put in the work. That being said, they may pose a barrier at the point of entry, so you may need to demonstrate why you should get the internship offer in spite of that. This could be done in one of several ways: a) the usual co-curriculars such as papers and moots b) focusing on a particular area that you have an affinity for and chasing it or c) if you have the privilege, through references.

On (b), I once met a student in the course of a talk at some college, and his energy and obvious passion for the subject were evident. A couple of years later, I got an email from him, that he had been rejected by the firm's internship department but that he would love to work with my team. I scheduled an interview, eventually hired him, and he ended up being one of my best associates till date. So keep at it, and don't give up. Having said that, grades make things easier, so since you're only in your second year, you may want to consider working on them while you have time. Cheers.