Read 23 comments as:
Filter By
Why is no one talking about the hotly debated topic i.e. Rejuvenation Break in law firms, here on LI? I understand that so far, SAM and King Stubb & Kasiva have declared such breaks. Is there any other firm which has declared such break? What is the reality at ground level? Can we (Firms) really afford this?

P.S.: My firm clearly hasn't.
I'm a millennial lawyer in 30s.

I fully credit batch of 2018 onwards for this change in attitude. These kids have come in and really not taking nonsense. I know a lot of older lawyers in law firms go "ah.. no work ethic!" "In my day, we wouldn't dare think of asking for leave for something like this" but something's changed. These kids are drawing boundaries or worse, quitting like mad and also citing mental health liberally. We have lost a few soldiers along the way but the Industry has changed for the better thanks to this attitude.

Salaam!
God bless GenZ. They've seen world economy burn down twice (2008, 2020) before even graduating. Now they take no shit from anyone, everything is transient and dispensible.
Lol

These kids leave firms en mass. But replacements can be bought in within a few hours. It's slightly hard to replace an SA, but A0 and A2? - College RCC's and thousands of kids from Tier 3 law firms/Chambers are knocking on the door to get in. Don't be delusional.
Only a person who has never invested time and energy training a kid for months or years can say this.

It is like telling a guy saying "yeh nahi toh koi aur" to his friend who just got dumped by his long term girlfriend. It is not that easy to replace quality / well trained A1s.

If my partner said something like this, I'd hate him. Because not only does not value the junior associate, he does not value my / other seniors' contribution in training the associate.