Read 16 comments as:
Filter By
Hey everyone, this is my first year of filing tax returns as a lawyer (associate at a T2 law firm).

I understand lawyers being professional can avail "upto 50%" standard deductions as expenses without the need to have their accounts audited.

I just wanted to know if normally people do claim the entire 50% deduction or do you actually sit and calculate how much expenses have been made and then enter the exact amount? Alternatively, if someone is claiming less than 50% deduction, can be it a ballpark figure like 30%?
Unless you are actually capable of preparing your tax computation, and then populating the appropriate ITR accordingly, would strongly suggest that you approach a CA to do your return, without breaking your head over it....
Don't feel like paying 30% tax on whole income, so I claim the entire 50%. Upto 50L, you can too. Just note that ideally you should have spent that money so just spend that money or dispose it off in appropriate manner, you can always appoint numerous servants, and become creative.
Why do I need to 'spend' 50%? What's the downside of investing the amounts in traceable sources like equity and mutual funds?

Context: A0. I'm saving 80-90% retainer.
50%, β€œor an amount higher that is claimed” is roughly the language of s.44ADA. This language might imply that you need to only claim what your actual expenses are (approximately). If you don’t spend the money then an Assessing Office will rightly claim that you don’t have 50% expenses, let alone 50% deemed business expenses (and he can prove it easily). He will then proceed to add it, and possibly charge you with misreporting (high penalty - 200% of tax liability I think). Though whether he can add that income (since it’s a deeming section) or not isn’t yet a settled issue, and I personally don’t think he can.
> Just note that ideally you should have spent that money so just spend that money