Read 15 comments as:
Filter By
Here's an easy fix which firms can adopt to improve their work culture to an extent. This by itself may not cure all ills with law firm, but this can be a good start with no loss to the firm. Here goes.

Provide new mothers the option to WFH till a year or two after the expiry of maternity leave. I'm not an expert on this - so firms can look at available scientific evidence to decide till what period they think they should give this option. But a year or two sounds fair to the layman me.

The past year has shown us the firms can function normally with their lawyers working from home. So why not give this option to new mothers, which wouldn't affect the firm's profits.

I know it may be asking for too much, but if firms really want to be equitable they should also allow new fathers the same option.

Let's start making law firms more accessible for women who are mothers. Possibly there'll be lesser women who leave their jobs to raise their child (who may otherwise may not have wanted to stop working).

Men haven't been facing this hurdle historically. So let's start with women. But seriously consider giving men the same option. Raising a child is not an easy job and definitely not only the mother's responsibility.

As I said, this is just an option. Those who may not want to avail of the same are free to work from office.
IMO, the real and only way to change law firm culture systemically is more competition.

Currently, there are 6 firms, the combined strength of which is a maximum of 3500. They must hire around 400-450 A0s max per year. This is supremely disproportionate to the number of individuals who want to be in these positions, and even though the pay has not risen in quite a few years (by risen I mean in line with inflation at least), it is a lot of money in absolute numbers for the age at which these salaries are earned.