Read 8 comments as:
Filter By
Hi guys. I'm currently a third year student at one of the clichΓ© Tier 1 N places.
I've got a couple Tier 1 internships and a few Tier 2 internships until now. But most of them are with transactional teams (M&A/PE/VC and Gen Corp). I also have a callback internship with one of these teams in the coming days.

However, I've developed a newfound interest in International Arbitration and I'm interested in working in the practice area post law school.

Do my previous internships constrict me to transactional practice areas? How can I go about building a profile that would be deemed good for a student wanting to pursue a career in International Arbitration?
Any suggestions are highly appreciated. If anyone could also suggest good teams/firms in the International Arbitration space, it'll be really helpful.
Thank you for all your comments in advance!
See, you're not entirely wrong when you say work ex in a particular field of law ends up restricting you to that field in future job opportunities. But I would say that applies a lot more strictly to your full time employment experience. If you can break out, it is now, before your first full time job opportunity.

In terms of good teams in ICA, look at Tejas Karia/Rishab Gupta at SAM, Shaneen Parikh/Shalaka Patil at CAM, Sudip Mullick/Raj Panchmatia at Khaitan.

There are smaller, well known ICA practises, like Arista Chambers' Promod Nair in Bangalore. Nishith Desai has a good ICA practise under Kshama Loya. That's a good team in Bombay, hard-working people.
Look at Link Legal's Atul Sharma and ELP's Naresh Thacker also.