Read 18 comments as:
Filter By
Hi, everyone! I am a final year student at one of the top 3 NLUs. My law school's placements just got over, and I was not even shortlisted for a single interview given the dearth of law firm internships and a poor cv in general.

I have not interned since October 2019 because of mental health issues that I have now successfully dealt with. My grades have also plummeted down ever since, and I am not sure if I can get a job now.

What can I do in the next 11 months to become employable? My spirits are high again, and I want to work and learn. However, there are no precedents in my college of someone like me getting a job. I really wish I had not wasted the last 1.5 years on mental health issues, but that's life. Should I start applying to tier 3 firms and make my way up from there? Or, is there a possibility that I can hustle and make my way into a good law firm within the next 11 months?

I am not concerned with prestige; and money while important, is secondary to learning for me. Hence, I wanted to find work at smaller boutique firms like Algo Legal and stay there for two years at least.
Hi boss,
good to know that you are in a better place mentally and are looking forward to learn. As long as you are willing to put in the work and are eager to learn, you should progress. If you are not obsessed with brand value, do intern with these non 'tier-1' firms and pick up a job. It is imprudent to intern with firms which hire through day 0 to get a job there now. However, in my 2021 batch, quite a few good candidates made it to AZB after they graduated (and interned in July). I think the chances of that are low while not zero.